Debt Collection Advisory Committee

On April 29, 2021, the Department announced the creation of its inaugural debt collection advisory committee, a seven-member board that will provide critical feedback to the Department as it stands up its debt collection licensing program. The diverse group includes a consumer advocate and representatives from the debt collection, debt-buying, third-party collection, and collection law industries. The committee will advise the Commissioner on matters related to the debt collection business, including proposed fee schedules and other requirements.

Upcoming Meeting Information

  • Meeting information will be shared as it becomes available.

Past Meetings

Committee Members

The committee members were appointed by former Commissioner Manuel P. Alvarez for two-year terms pursuant to Financial Code Section 100025 of the Debt Collection Licensing Act (DCLA).

The committee members represent a cross-section of interested candidates; five are industry representatives, one is a consumer advocate, and one is a law and economics professor who studies the industry. The committee includes the following members:

Elizabeth Gonzalez, Public Counsel
Scott Hyman, Severson & Werson
Mark Naiman, Absolute Resolutions Corporation
Cindy Yaklin, States Recovery Systems Inc.
Tamar Yudenfreund, Midland Credit Management
Ohad Samet, TrueAccord Corporation
Prasad Krishnamurthy, UC Berkeley School of Law

Last updated: May 24, 2022 @ 10:31 am

Approved by [name] [month/year]