Licensing Requirements under the California Deferred Deposit Transaction Law (CDDTL)
Persons that are licensed under the CDDTL may be an individual, corporation, a partnership, a limited liability company, a joint venture, an association, a joint stock company, a trust, an unincorporated organization, a government entity, or a political subdivision of a government entity. An application must be submitted for each location that the applicant intends to engage in the business of deferred deposit transactions. A licensee with one or more licensed locations may file a short form license application established by the Commissioner. Applications are processed in the order they are received.
The requirements for obtaining a license are as follows:
- For each location, submit an application with the appropriate exhibits, an application fee of $200, and an investigation fee of $100. Fees are non-refundable. An application on a short form established by the Commissioner may be submitted for each additional location that the applicant intends to engage in the business of deferred deposit transactions. Short form applications for each additional location, including mobile units, must include an application fee of $200, and an investigation fee of $100.
- Maintain a surety bond in the amount of $25,000 which must be in effect prior to the issuance of a license.
- Submit financial statements prepared in accordance with Generally Accepted Accounting Principles that demonstrates that the applicant has a net worth of at least $25,000. After licensure, the licensee shall be required to maintain a net worth of at least $25,000 at all times.
- The application must include fingerprint information submitted by live scan and the cost of fingerprint processing for the following:
- The applicant;
- The general partners, officers, directors and persons owning or controlling, directly or indirectly, 10% or more of the outstanding equity interests of the applicant; and
- Other key persons involved, such as managers/members, trustees, any other officers with direct responsibility for the conduct of applicant’s deferred deposit activity, and the persons who will be in charge of the place of business.
An application may be denied if any officer, director, general partner, or person owning or controlling, directly or indirectly, 10% or more of the outstanding interests or equity securities of the applicant has, within the last 10 years (A) been convicted of or pleaded nolo contendere to a crime, or (B) committed any act involving dishonesty, fraud, or deceit, if the crime or act is substantially related to the qualifications, functions, or duties of a person engaged in the business of deferred deposit transactions.
- Applications for Licensure Package (This package includes: Release 52-FS, Release 2-G, Application for License under the California Deferred Deposit Transaction Law (Form CDDTL 2020), all exhibits, Notice Required under State and Federal Law, “Short Form Application” (Form CDDTL 2021) and Application for Information for a License)
- Application Information for a License – Deferred Deposit Transaction Law
- “Short-Form Application” For a License under the California Deferred Deposit Transaction Law – – ( Licensee Currently Having One or More Licensed Locations) (CDDTL 2021)
- Notice of Fingerprint Processing Requirements under the California Deferred Deposit Transaction Law (CDDTL 2023)
- Request for Live Scan Service – Applicant Submission (BC8018CDDTL) [Note – Adobe Reader 7.x or higher is required]
Key Consumer Links