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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL PROTECTION AND INNOVATION
OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA
In the Matter of: ) CFL LICENSE NO. 60DB0-82330

THE COMMISSIONER OF FINANCIAL
PROTECTION AND INNOVATION, ACCUSATION TO REVOKE CALIFORNIA
FINANCE LENDER LICENSE PURSUANT
Complainant, TO FINANCIAL CODE § 22714(A)

V.

CREDITNINJA LENDING, LLC DBA
CREDITNINJA, a Limited Liability Company,

Respondent.

|
|
|
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|
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|

Complainant, the Commissioner of Financial Protection and Innovation (Commissioner) is
informed and believes, and based upon such information and belief, alleges and charges Respondent
as follows:

l.
Introduction

1. The Commissioner has jurisdiction over the licensing and regulation of persons and

entities engaged in the business of a finance lender or broker under the California Financing Law

(CFL) (Fin. Code § 22000 et. seq). *

1 All further references are to the Financial Code unless otherwise indicated.
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2. CreditNinja Lending, LLC. dba CreditNinja (CreditNinja), is a limited liability
company licensed as a California finance lender on April 27, 2018, with the license number 60DBO-
82330. CreditNinja’s principal place of business is located at 222 South Riverside Plaza, Suite 2200,

Chicago, IL 60606. CreditNinja engages in the business of originating unsecured consumer loans.

3. Mark Friedgan is, and was, at all relevant times, the chief executive officer of
CreditNinja.
4. On or about December 12, 2021, CreditNinja filed a name change amendment with

the California Secretary of State, changing its name from KMD Partners, LLC to CreditNinja.

5. On May 5, 2022, the Commissioner commenced a regulatory examination of
CreditNinja's books and records. The examination showed that CreditNinja conducted business as a
finance lender in violation of the CFL, as described below.

1.

2022 Requlatory Examination

A. CreditNinja Failed to Maintain a Minimum Net Worth Requirement of $25,000

6. A review of CreditNinja’s annual reports for the years 2019, 2020, and 2021
disclosed that it failed to maintain a minimum net worth of at least $25,000 pursuant to section
22104, which requires licensees to maintain a net worth of at least $25,000 at all times.

7. The Commissioner requested that CreditNinja produce evidence, including its
financial statements, demonstrating that it met the minimum net worth requirement. The
Commissioner further directed CreditNinja to describe the measures it had implemented to ensure
future compliance with the minimum net worth requirement. CreditNinja failed to provide the
information the Commissioner requested.

B. CreditNinja Changed its Name Without First Notifying the Commissioner

8. On December 23, 2021, CreditNinja changed its legal name from KMD Partners,
LLC, to CreditNinja Lending, LLC, without first notifying the Commissioner, in violation of section
22155.
111
111
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C.
9.

Charging Borrowers Excess Non-Sufficient Funds Fee

CreditNinja’s loan agreements indicated that borrowers who defaulted on their loans

would be charged only one dishonored payment fee for each scheduled installment payment,

regardless of how many times a particular check or payment item was returned. Contrary to

CreditNinja’s statements, the examination showed that CreditNinja charged borrowers multiple non-

sufficient funds (NSF) fees per scheduled installment payment on multiple loans, in violation of

section 22161(a)(1). The following are examples of loans in which CreditNinja charged borrowers

multiple NSF fees:

Loan Borrower | Loan Due Date NSF Fee | NSF CreditNinja NSF

No. Date Date Fee per exam

220055 | I.* 9/16/19 | 4/15/20 4/17/20 $15.00 $15.00
4/15/20 5/4/20 $15.00 $0.00
Total NSF Overcharge

135489 | E. 6/17/19 | 10/11/19 10/16/19 $15.00 $15.00
10/11/19 10/22/19 $15.00 $0.00
11/29/19 12/3/19 $15.00 $15.00
11/29/19 12/10/19 $15.00 $0.00
01/03/20 01/07/20 $15.00 $15.00
01/03/20 01/14/20 $15.00 $0.00
02/21/20 02/25/20 $15.00 $15.00
02/21/20 03/03/20 $15.00 $0.00
07/24/20 07/28/20 $15.00 $15.00
07/24/20 08/04/20 $15.00 $0.00
10/23/20 10/27/20 $15.00 $15.00
10/23/20 11/03/20 $15.00 $0.00
Total NSF Overcharge $90.00

*Loan was sold to a third-party.

10.

The Commissioner directed CreditNinja to provide documents, including bank

statements, reflecting the NSF fees it charged borrowers as well as any refunds issued to borrowers.
CreditNinja was further directed to conduct a companywide review of all open and paid loans issued

after September 1, 2018, to identify and refund borrowers with similar multiple NSF charges. In
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addition, the Commissioner requested that CreditNinja state the corrective action it had taken to
ensure future compliance.

11. In response, CreditNinja identified 872 loan transactions with multiple NSF fees and
stated it would issue refunds to borrowers or have the balances on borrowers’ accounts adjusted to
reflect the correct NSF fees no later than 30 days from the date of its response. The chart below

shows the number of loans for which CreditNinja assessed excessive NSF fees:

Loan Status # of ldentified Loans Total Refund/Credit
Amount Estimated

Paid in full 123 $4,680.00
Open 2 $210.00
Sold 747 $34,940.00
D. CreditNinja Improperly Engaged and Paid Compensation to Brokers and Unlicensed
Entities

12.  The examination further showed that various unlicensed third-party entities referred
borrowers to CreditNinja for compensation, in violation of California Code of Regulations title 10,
section 1451(c). Referral activities are deemed broker activities under section 22004. CreditNinja did
not prepare or obtain a borrower/broker statement in violation of sections 22161 and 22337.

CreditNinja obtained referral services in originating the loans listed below:

Loan No. | Borrower Loan Date Third-party Entities
220055 l. 09/16/19 LBMC
90158 H. 03/26/19 Lead Flash
679324 E. 09/24/20 Acquire Interactive
373556 S. 01/24/20 Leads Market
111
4
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13.  The Commissioner demanded that CreditNinja immediately cease obtaining referral
services from unlicensed entities or individuals in connection with its lending business. The
Commissioner further requested that CreditNinja provide a list of all third-party entities that had
referred customers to it since 2019, along with a description of the scope of services provided by
each third party and any business arrangements or agreements with the third parties, including any
referral fees paid to the third party. CreditNinja was also required to state the corrective actions it
had taken to assure the DFPI of future compliance.

14, CreditNinja responded that it would no longer obtain referrals for compensation or
buy leads from unlicensed providers going forward. CreditNinja identified 11 lead providers and 16
business agreements it executed with third parties but failed to provide copies of the agreements.

E. Failure to File Accurate CFL Annual Reports.

15. The examination disclosed that CreditNinja brokered consumer loans to other lenders
beginning in October 2019, in violation of sections 22170, 22340, and 22059. CreditNinja failed to
report its broker activities in 2019, 2020, and 2021 CFL annual reports. Further, CreditNinja failed
to update its business plan to include its broker activities until August 24, 2022. The chart below

shows some of the loans that CreditNinja brokered:

Year Brokered Loans Per Brokered Loans Per | Brokered Loans Per
Exam Questionnaire CFL Annual Report | Loan Report
Number | Amount Number Amount | Number Amount
2019 N/A N/A 0 $0.00 710 $1,397,933
2020 0 $0.00 0 $0.00 1,293 $2,029,914
2021 0 $0.00 0 $0.00 2,672 $2,585,281
5
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16. In response to the Commissioner’s request for an explanation concerning
CreditNinja’s brokering activities, CreditNinja stated that it purchases 100% participation interest in
loans funded by First Electronic Bank as of the third business day following disbursement. The
Commissioner observed from CreditNinja’s loan reports that CreditNinja had equitable participation
interests in all loans listed except for one loan, number 529846.

17.  The Commissioner demanded that CreditNinja explain its reasons for failing to report
its brokerage activities in its CFL annual reports and state the corrective action taken to ensure future
compliance. CreditNinja attributed the omission to the “Examination Questionnaire and Annual
Reports” (EQAR), asserting that the EQAR only required information for its direct lending, not
lending via bank partners. CreditNinja stated that it now maintains a record of “prior-used queries”
to ensure consistency in the data it provides and to prevent discrepancies resulting from “human
error in the data querying process.”

F. Interest Rate Exceeded Maximum Rate Allowed

18. The examination disclosed that CreditNinja’s interest rate charges exceeded the
maximum interest rate allowed under sections 22303 and 22304 on loans with a bona fide principal

loan amount of less than $2,500. The following are examples:

Loan Borrower | Loan Date | Principal loan Principal Bona | Interest Rate
No. amount Fide Amount | Charged
44695 A 12/3/18 $2,331.32 $2,256.32 199.00%
48779 B. 12/7/18 $2,225.76 $2,156.64 199.00%
100638 | H. 04/19/19 | $2,095.00 $2,095.00 222.00%

19.  The Commissioner directed CreditNinja to conduct a companywide review of all
open and paid-off loans originated after September 1, 2018, and to identify and refund borrowers
with similar interest overcharges. CreditNinja was asked to state the corrective action it had
implemented to avoid a recurrence of the violation.

20.  CreditNinja responded that it used a 19% flat rate to calculate the amount of interest it

overcharged and agreed to issue refunds to borrowers. For loans sold to third parties, CreditNinja
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stated it would adjust the balance on the borrower’s accounts to reflect the amount of excess interest
refunded. CreditNinja further reported that it no longer wishes to make loans under the CFL. The

chart below shows some of the loans for which CreditNinja charged excess interest:

Loan Status # of Identified Loans | Total Refund/Credit
Amount
Paid in full 8 $13,690.40
Open 4 $1,295.75
Sold 7 $37,732.47
G. Overcharging Annual Percentage Rate (APR) on Consumer Installment Loans and

Failing to Establish Approved Credit Education Program

21. The examination disclosed that CreditNinja charged excess APRs on consumer loans
while failing to create an approved credit education program, in violation of section 22304.5(a).
(a)Interest Rate Exceeded Maximum Rate Allowed
22.  CreditNinja charged an APR exceeding 36 percent per annum plus the Federal Funds
Rate allowed under sections 22304.5(a) and 22306 in at least one loan transaction made on or after

January 1, 2020, as illustrated below:

Loan No. Borrower Loan Date | Principal Loan | APR Permissible
Amount Charged APR
413669 K. 02/28/20 | $2,619.44 248.31% 37.55%

23.  The Commissioner directed CreditNinja to recast the above loan, refund the interest
overcharge, and review all open and paid-off loans from January 1, 2020, forward, to identify similar
overcharges. CreditNinja responded that the cited loan was created manually in error and agreed to
issue a refund to the borrower. CreditNinja’s companywide review did not identify any additional
CFL loans made on or after January 1, 2020.

11
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(b) Failure to Submit a Consumer Credit Education Program to the

Commissioner for Review and Approval.

24.  Section 22304.5(c)(2) requires that, before disbursing a loan, a finance lender must
either 1) offer a borrower a credit education program or seminar that has previously been reviewed
and approved by the Commissioner or 2) offer a credit education program or seminar provided by an
independent third party and previously approved by the Commissioner. CreditNinja failed to submit
any credit education program or seminar to the Commissioner for review and approval or failed to
offer consumers a credit education program or seminar approved by the Commissioner as prescribed
under section 22304.5(c)(2).

25.  The Commissioner requested that CreditNinja provide evidence confirming it had
established a duly approved consumer education program that is readily available to consumers. In
response, CreditNinja asserted that the cited loan was the only instance where it had made a CFL
loan after December 31, 2019.

H. Charging Excessive Administrative Fees

26.  The examination disclosed that CreditNinja charged excessive administrative fees on
(a) loans with bona fide amounts under $2,500, (b) loans with bona fide amounts of $2,500, and (c)
refinanced loans.
(@) Administrative Fee Overcharge on Loans of Under $2,500
27. CreditNinja charged at least one borrower an excess administrative fee in violation of
section 22305. Under section 22305, a licensee may not charge an administrative fee exceeding 5%
or $50, whichever is less, for loans with bona fide principal amounts under $2,500. The chart below

illustrates a transaction in which CreditNinja charged an excessive administrative fee:

Loan Borrower | Loan Bona Fide | Administrative | Administrative | Overcharge
No. Date Principal | Fee Charged Fee Per Exam

Amount
679324 | E. 09/24/20 | $1,500 $75 $50 $25

28.  The Commissioner directed CreditNinja to conduct a companywide review of all

open and paid-off loans originated after September 1, 2018, with a bona fide principal loan amount

8
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of less than $2,500 to identify similar overcharges and to provide refunds/adjustments to the affected
borrowers, including loans sold to third parties. CreditNinja was also instructed to describe the
measures it had implemented to ensure future compliance.

29.  CreditNinja attributed the administrative fee overcharge to an erroneous business rule
setting in its transaction system. CreditNinja identified two paid-off loans, and two loans sold to
third parties with overcharges, stating that refunds would be issued to borrowers no later than 30
days following the date of the response.

(b) Administrative Fee Overcharge on Loans of $2,500

30. The examination revealed that CreditNinja made approximately 1,493 consumer
loans with bona fide principal amounts of $2,500 or less between May 22, 2018, and August 31,
2018. Of the 1,493 loan transactions, CreditNinja charged excessive administrative fees of $125 on
1,355 loans and excess administrative fees of $75 on one loan, in violation of section 22305. The
Commissioner noted that CreditNinja discovered the administrative fee overcharges around mid-
August 2018 and corrected the error. The chart below shows the loan transactions in which

CreditNinja overcharged administrative fees on loans with bona fide amounts of $2,500:

Month/Year | Bona Fide | Loans with | Loans with | Loans with | Overcharge | Total
Principal | $50 Admin | $75 Admin | $125 Per Loan Overcharge
Loan Fee Fee Admin Fee
Amount
May 2018 | $2,500 0 0 $45 $75 $3,375
June 2018 | $2,500 0 0 523 $75 $39,225
July 2018 | $2,500 0 0 700 $75 $52,500
August $2,500 137 1 87 $75 $6,550
2018
Total $2,500 137 1 1,355 $75 $101,650
Iy
Iy
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31.  The Commissioner directed CreditNinja to conduct a companywide review of all
loans made and paid off after April 27, 2018, with a bona fide principal loan amount of $2,500, to
identify similar overcharges and provide refunds/adjustments to the affected borrowers including
loans sold to third parties. CreditNinja was also instructed to describe the corrective actions it has
taken to ensure future compliance.

32.  CreditNinja did not dispute the Commissioner’s findings but asserted that the
administrative fee overcharge was due to an “erroneous business-rule setting” in its transaction
system. CreditNinja identified 183 paid-off loans, 226 open loans, and 908 loans sold to third parties
in which it had charged excess administrative fees. CreditNinja further stated it would issue refunds
or make balance adjustments to the affected loans, including loans sold to third parties, no later than
30 days following the date of the response.

(c) Administrative Fee Overcharge on Refinanced Loans

33.  CreditNinja charged an administrative fee on refinanced loans before one year had

passed since the receipt of a previous administrative fee, in violation of section 22305. The

following are examples:

Loan Borrower | Loan Bona Fide | Administrative | Refinanced
No. Date Principal Fee Loan No.
Amount Overcharged

44695 | A. 12/3/18 $2,256.32 | $75 21592

48779 | B. 12/7/18 $2,156.64 | $69.12 19763

34.  CreditNinja was instructed to conduct a companywide review of all loans made and
paid off after September 1, 2018, with bona fide principal loan amounts of less than $2,500 to
identify similar overcharges and to provide refunds/adjustments to the affected borrowers, including
loans sold to third parties. CreditNinja was further directed to describe the measures it had
implemented to ensure future compliance.

35.  CreditNinja responded that the administrative fee overcharge was caused by an

erroneous business rule setting in its transaction system but failed to provide the report requested.
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l. Failure to Update Company Business Plan

36.  The examination disclosed that CrediNinja engaged in brokering or servicing
activities that were not disclosed to the DFPI in its original CFL lender application, nor in any
subsequent amendment to its business plan, in violation of sections 22108(a) and 22154. CreditNinja
brokered and purchased consumer loans from First Electronic Bank and CC Connect, a division of
Capital Community Bank. Further, CreditNinja’s website at www.creditninja.com/ccconnect
describes CreditNinja as an authorized servicer of CC Connect.

37. The Commissioner directed CreditNinja to describe the services it provided to First
Electronic Bank and CC Connect banks and/or their affiliates. The Commissioner also requested that
CreditNinja provide its servicing agreement with CC Connect, along with five sample loans made by
CC Connect that CreditNinja serviced. In addition, CreditNinja was directed to contact the DFPI’s
CFL Licensing Unit to update its business plan and state the corrective actions or procedures it had
established to ensure future compliance.

38.  CreditNinja confirmed that it is an authorized servicer of CC Connect and provided a
copy of its service agreement and an updated business plan to the examiner assigned to the
examination. However, CreditNinja has yet to contact the DFPI’s CFL Licensing Unit with updates
on its business plan.

J. Delinquency Fee Overcharges

39. The examination disclosed that CreditNinja overcharged borrowers delinquency fees
by (1) assessing a late fee when a payment was not late or (2) charging a late fee in excess of the
maximum allowed or the amount stated in the loan agreement, in violation of section 22320.5. The

chart below illustrates some of the loan transactions in which CreditNinja overcharged delinquency

fees:
Loan Borrower | Loan Payment | Payment | #Days | Late Fee | Allowed | Late Fee
No. Date Due Date | Date Late Charged | Late Fee | Overcharge
318746 | V. 12/13/19 | 7/2/20 07/24/20 | 22 $16.86 | $15 $1.86
7/31/20 | 08/26/20 | 26 $16.86 | $15 $1.86
8/28/20 | 09/25/20 |28 $16.86 | $15 $1.86
11
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10/9/20 10/26/20 | 17 $16.86 | $15 $1.86
11/6/20 11/25/20 | 19 $16.86 | $15 $1.86
12/4/20 12/24/20 | 20 $16.86 | $15 $1.86
Total $101.16 | $90 &11.16
90158 03/26/19 | 06/12/19 | 07/31/19 | 49 $29.64 | $15 $14.64
08/14/19 | 09/04/19 |21 $29.64 | $15 $14.64
09/11/19 | 10/4/19 |23 $29.64 | $15 $14.64
10/09/19 | 11/4/19 | 26 $29.64 | $15 $14.64
11/13/19 | 12/4/19 |21 $29.64 | $15 $14.64
12/11/19 | 01/6/20 | 26 $29.64 | $15 $14.64
01/08/20 | 02/4/20 | 27 $29.64 | $15 $14.64
02/20/20 | 03/4/20 |21 $29.64 | $15 $14.64
03/11/20 | 04/6/20 | 25 $29.64 | $15 $14.64
Total $266.75 | $135.00 | $131.75

The Commissioner directed CreditNinja to conduct a companywide review of all

open and paid-off accounts originated after September 1, 2018, and to identify similar late fee

overcharges. CreditNinja was also instructed to submit to the Commissioner an electronic report of

all applicable refunds/adjustments issued to the affected borrowers, including loans sold to third

parties.

41. In response, CreditNinja stated that the late fee overcharge was due to a business rule
setting in the administrative module of its loan management system. It identified 139 loans with late
fee overcharges and stated it would issue refunds and/or make balance adjustments to borrowers’
accounts no later than 30 days following the date of the response.

K. Failure to Demonstrate Adequate Knowledge of CFL Laws and Rules

42.  California Code of Regulations, title 10, section 1446 states that “[e]very employee of

a finance company who negotiates for or makes any loan pursuant to the Law shall familiarize

12
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oneself with the laws, rules, and regulations governing such loan business.” Based on the

examination findings, the Commissioner determined that CreditNinja sold loans with overstated loan

balances to various third-party debt collectors by failing to apply the CFL provisions properly. The

Commissioner determined that CreditNinja’s misapplication of the CFL provisions showed a lack of

familiarity with the CFL laws that govern CrediNinja’s finance lending business. The chart below

illustrates loans in which CreditNinja failed to properly apply the provisions of the CFL.:

Loan No. Borrower Loan Date Debt Collector

44695 A. 12/03/18 Rocky Mountain
Capital

100638 H. 04/19/19 Rocky Mountains

251712 A. 10/28/19 National Credit
Adjusters, LLC

67343 B. 01/29/19 Plaza Services LLC

413669 K. 02/28/20 Structured
Settlements

43.  CreditNinja denied intentionally or knowingly overstating loan balances to third-party

debt collectors. CreditNinja claimed that most of the violations noted in the Commissioner’s findings

stemmed from its system setting errors, which resulted in incorrect balances that it was, allegedly

unaware of.

44, By reason of the foregoing, CreditNinja has violated the CFL by:

a.

Failing to maintain a minimum net worth requirement of $25,000.00 in

violation of section 22104.

Changing its name without first notifying the Commissioner in violation of

section 22155.

Charging borrowers excess non-sufficient funds fee in violation of section

22161(a)(1).

Improperly engaging and paying compensation to unlicensed brokers or
entities in its finance lending business in violation of sections 22161 and
22337 and California Code of Regulations section 1451(c).
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e. Failing to file accurate CFL annual reports in violation of FC 22161.

f. Charging borrowers excess interest rate in violation of sections 22303 and
22304.

g. Charging borrowers excess Annual Percentage Rate in violation of section
22304.5.

h. Charging borrowers excess administrative fees in violation of section
22305.

I.  Failing to update its business plan in violation of sections 22108(a) and
22154,

J.  Charging excess delinquency fees in violation of 22320.5.
k. Failing to demonstrate that its employees who negotiate loans are familiar

with the laws and regulations governing the loan business in violation of
California Code of Regulations Section 1446.

Applicable Law

Section 22059 states:

A license to act as a broker under this division does not authorize
the licensee to negotiate or perform any act as a broker in
connection with loans made or to be made by a lender not licensed
as a finance lender under this division.

Section 22104 states:

The applicant shall file with the application for a finance lender,
broker, or program administrator license financial statements
prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting
principles and acceptable to the commissioner that indicate a net
worth of at least twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000). Except as
provided in subdivisions (b) and (c), a licensee shall maintain a net
worth of at least twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) at all times.

Section 22108(a) states:

22108. (a) The commissioner may by rule require licensees to file,
at the times that he or she may specify, the information that he or
she may reasonably require regarding any changes in the

14
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48.

49.

50.

information provided in any application filed pursuant to this
division.

Section 22154 states:

22154. (a) Subject to Section 22157.1, a licensee shall not conduct
the business of making loans ... within any office, room, or place
of business in which any other business is solicited or engaged in,
..., except as is authorized in writing by the commissioner upon
the commissioner’s finding that the character of the other business
is such that the granting of the authority would not facilitate
evasions of this division or of the rules and regulations made
pursuant to this division. ....

Section 22155 states:

Subject to Section 22157.1, a finance lender ..., shall not transact
the business licensed .... under any other name or at any other
place of business than that named in the license except pursuant to
a currently effective written order of the commissioner authorizing
the other name or other place of business.... Section 22104 states:
business provided for by this division, other than the business
described in subdivision (b) of Section 22154, at a place other than
the licensed location under either of the following conditions:

() The borrower requests, either orally or in writing, that a loan be
initiated or made at a location other than the licensee’s licensed
location. The use by the licensee of a preprinted solicitation form
returned to the licensee by the borrower shall not constitute a
request by the borrower that a loan be initiated or made at a
location other than the licensee’s licensed location.

(b) The licensee makes a solicitation or advertises for, or makes an
offer of, a loan or assessment contract displayed on “home pages”
or similar methods by the licensee on the internet, the World Wide
Web, or similar proprietary or common carrier electronic systems,
and the prospective borrower or property owner may transmit
information over these electronic systems to the licensee in
connection with the licensee’s offer to make a loan or assessment
contract.

Section 22161 states:

(a) A person subject to this division shall not do any of the
following:

(1) Make a materially false or misleading statement or
representation to a borrower about the terms or conditions of that
borrower’s loan, when making or brokering the loan.

15

ACCUSATION TO REVOKE CFL LICENSE




State of California - Department of Financial Protection and Innovation

© 00 N oo o B~ W N P

N R R N N I N R N T v = e T i o e =
©® N o OB W N P O ©W © N o o b~ W N BB o

Iy
Iy

(2) Make a materially false or misleading statement or
representation to a property owner about the terms or conditions of
an assessment contract.

(3) Advertise, print, display, publish, distribute, or broadcast, or
cause or permit to be advertised, printed, displayed, published,
distributed, or broadcast in any manner, any statement or
representation with regard to the business subject to the provisions
of this division, including the rates, terms, or conditions for
making or negotiating loans, or for making or negotiating
assessment contracts, that is false, misleading, or deceptive, or that
omits material information that is necessary to make the statements
not false, misleading, or deceptive, or in the case of a licensee, that
refers to the supervision of the business by the state or any
department or official of the state.

(4) Commit an act in violation of Section 1695.13 of the Civil
Code.

(5) Engage in any act in violation of Section 17200 of the Business
and Professions Code.

(6) Knowingly misrepresent, circumvent, or conceal, through
subterfuge or device, any material aspect or information regarding
a transaction to which the person is a party.

(7) Commit an act that constitutes fraud or dishonest dealings.

Section 22170 states:

(@) It is unlawful for any person to knowingly alter, destroy,
mutilate, conceal, cover up, falsify, or make a false entry in any
record, document, or tangible object with the intent to impede,
obstruct, or influence the administration or enforcement of any
provision of this division.

(c) It is unlawful for any person to knowingly make an untrue
statement to the commissioner or the Nationwide Mortgage
Licensing System and Registry during the course of licensing,
investigation, or examination, with the intent to impede, obstruct,
or influence the administration or enforcement of any provision of
this division.
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52.  Sections 22303, 22304, 22304.5, 22305, 22320.5, 22328, and 22337 (a) state:

22303. Every licensee who lends any sum of money may contract for and receive
charges at a rate not exceeding the sum of the following:
(a) Two and one-half percent per month on that part of the
unpaid principal balance of any loan up to, including, but not in
excess of two hundred twenty-five dollars ($225).

(b) Two percent per month on that portion of the unpaid principal
balance in excess of two hundred twenty-five dollars ($225) up
to, including, but not in excess of nine hundred dollars ($900).

(c) One and one-half percent per month on that part of the unpaid
principal balance in excess of nine hundred dollars ($900) up to,
including, but not in excess of one thousand six hundred fifty
dollars ($1,650).

(d) One percent per month on any remainder of such unpaid
balance in excess of one thousand six hundred fifty dollars
($1,650).

This section does not apply to any loan of a bona fide principal
amount of two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) or more as
determined in accordance with Section 22251.

22304. As an alternative to the charges authorized by Section 22303, a licensee may
contract for and receive charges at the greater of the following:

(@) A rate not exceeding 1.6 percent per month on the unpaid
principal balance.

(b) A rate not exceeding five-sixths of 1 percent per month plus a
percentage per month equal to one-twelfth of the annual rate
prevailing on the 25th day of the second month of the quarter
preceding the quarter in which the loan is made, as established
by the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco, on advances to
member banks under Sections 13 and 13a of the Federal
Reserve Act, as now in effect or hereafter from time to time
amended, or if there is no single determinable rate for
advances, the closest counterpart of this rate as shall be
determined by the Commissioner of Financial Institutions.
Charges shall be calculated on the unpaid principal balance.

(c) This section does not apply to any loan of a bona fide principal

amount of two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) or more
as determined in accordance with Section 22251.
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22304.5. (a) For any loan of a bona fide principal amount of at least two
thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) but less than ten
thousand dollars ($10,000), as determined in accordance with
Section 22251, a finance lender may contract for or receive
charges at a rate not exceeding an annual simple interest rate of
36 percent per annum plus the Federal Funds Rate....

22305. In addition to the charges authorized by Section 22303, 22304, or
22304.5, a licensee may contract for and receive an
administrative fee, which shall be fully earned immediately upon
making the loan, with respect to a loan of a bona fide principal
amount of not more than two thousand five hundred dollars
($2,500) at a rate not in excess of 5 percent of the principal
amount (exclusive of the administrative fee) or fifty dollars
($50), whichever is less, and with respect to a loan of a bona fide
principal amount in excess of two thousand five hundred dollars
($2,500), at an amount not to exceed seventy-five dollars ($75).
No administrative fee may be contracted for or received in
connection with the refinancing of a loan unless at least one year
has elapsed since the receipt of a previous administrative fee paid
by the borrower. Only one administrative fee may be contracted
for or received until the loan has been repaid in full. For purposes
of this section, “bona fide principal amount” shall be determined
in accordance with Section 22251.

22320.5. (a) A licensee may contract for and receive a delinquency fee
not in excess of one of the following amounts:
(1) For a period in default of not less than 10 days, an amount
not in excess of ten dollars ($10).

(2) For a period in default of not less than 15 days, an amount
not in excess of fifteen dollars ($15).

(b) The delinquency fee may not be collected more than once
for the same default and may be collected at the time of the
default or at any time thereafter. If the delinquency fee is
deducted from any payment received after default occurs, and
the deduction results in the default of a subsequent installment,
no fee may be collected for the resulting default. The
delinquency fee under this section is not included in charges

defined in this division or in determining applicable maximum
charges that may be made under this article.
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53.

54.

22328.

(c) For open-end loans made under Article 5 (commencing with
Section 22450), a licensee shall not collect or receive the
delinquency fee set forth in subdivision (a) unless there is a
minimum of 20 days, inclusive, between the monthly billing
date and the date upon which the minimum payment is due,
exclusive of the applicable grace period provided in subdivision

@).

(d) This section shall not apply to precomputed loans as
described in Section 22400.22328(a)(d), 22337, 22346, and
22601.

(a) This section applies to a loan secured in whole or in part by a lien on a
motor vehicle as defined by subdivision (k) of Section 2981 of the Civil
Code.

(d) In all sales that result in a surplus, the licensee shall furnish an
accounting as provided in subdivision (c) whether or not
requested by the borrower. The surplus shall be returned to the
borrower within 45 days after the sale is conducted.

22337 (a). Each licensed finance lender shall:

Deliver or cause to be delivered to the borrower, or any one
thereof, at the time the loan is made, a statement showing in
clear and distinct terms the name, address, and license number
of the finance lender and the broker, if any. The statement shall
show the date, amount, and maturity of the loan contract, how
and when repayable, the nature of the security for the loan, if
any, and the agreed rate of charge or the annual percentage
pursuant to Regulation Z promulgated by the Consumer
Financial Protection Bureau (12 C.F.R. 1026).

California Code of Regulations, title 10, section 1446 states:

Tit. 10, § 1446 - Employees: Knowledge of Laws and Rules
Required. Every employee of a finance company who negotiates
for or makes any loan pursuant to the Law shall familiarize oneself
with the laws, rules, and regulations governing such loan business.

The violations of the CFL described above, if committed by CreditNinja on or before

having initially sought a license from the Commissioner under the CFL, would have constituted

grounds for the Commissioner to deny the license application of CreditNinja under section 221009.
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55. Pursuant to Section 22714(a), the Commissioner may suspend or revoke any license
if “a fact or condition exists that, if it had existed at the time of the original application for the
license, reasonably would have warranted the commissioner in refusing to issue the license
originally.”

56. Pursuant to section 22109, the Commissioner may refuse to issue a license if the
“applicant . . . has violated any provision of this division or the rules thereunder or any similar
regulatory scheme of the State of California .. ..” Thus, a fact or condition now exists that, if it had
existed at the time of the original application of CreditNinja for a license under the CFL, reasonably
would have warranted the Commissioner in refusing to issue the license.

Iv.
CFL Revocation/Penalty Statutes

57. Section 22714(a) provides in pertinent part:

(@) The commissioner shall suspend or revoke any license, upon
notice and reasonable opportunity to be heard, if the commissioner
finds any of the following:

(1) The licensee has failed to comply with any demand,
ruling, or requirement of the commissioner made
pursuant to and within the authority of this division.

(2) The licensee has violated any provision of this division
or any rule or regulation made by the commissioner
under and within the authority of this division.

(3) A fact or condition exists that, if it had existed at the
time of the original application for the license,
reasonably would have warranted the commissioner in
refusing to issue the license originally.

(4) There has been repeated failure by the finance lender,
when making or negotiating loans, to take into
consideration in determining the size and duration of
loans, the financial ability of the borrower to repay the
loan in the time and manner provided in the loan
contract, or to refinance the loan at maturity.

111

Iy
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Section 22750 (a) and (b) provide in pertinent part:

(a) If any amount other than, or in excess of, the charges permitted
by this division is willfully charged, contracted for, or received, the
contract of loan is void, and no person has any right to collect or
receive any principal, charges, or recompense in connection with
the transaction.

(b) If any provision of this division is willfully violated in the
making or collection of a loan, whether by a licensee or by an
unlicensed person subject to this division, the contract of loan is
void, and no person has any right to collect or receive any
principal, charges, or recompense in connection with the
transaction.

Section 22751 (a) and (b) provide in pertinent part:

(@) If any amount other than or in excess of the charges permitted
by this division is charged or contracted for, or received, for any
reason other than a willful act of the licensee, the licensee shall
forfeit all interest and charges on the loan and may collect or
receive only the principal amount of the loan.

(b) Subdivision (a) shall not apply to an error in computation if
(1) the licensee shows by a preponderance of evidence that the
violation was not intentional and resulted from a bona fide error
notwithstanding the maintenance of procedures reasonably adapted
to avoid any such error, and (2) within 60 days of discovering the
error the licensee notifies the borrower of the error and makes
whatever adjustments in the account are necessary to correct the
error.

\2

Conclusion

The Commissioner finds that, by reason of the foregoing, CreditNinja has violated sections,
22059, 22104, 22155, 22161, 22337(a), and California Code of Regulations, title 10, sections
1451(c); 22170, 22340, 22303, 22304, 22304.5, 22305, 22108(a), 22154, 22320.5, and California
Code of Regulations, title 10, section 1446. Additionally, a fact or condition now exists, that if it had
existed at the time of original licensure under the CFL, that fact or condition would reasonably have

warranted the Commissioner to refuse to issue the CFL license; based on all of the foregoing,
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grounds exist to revoke CreditNinja’s finance lender license.

VI.
Prayer

WHEREFORE, IT IS PRAYED THAT:

Pursuant to section 22714(a), the CFL finance lender license of CreditNinja Lending, LLC
dba CreditNinja, license number 60DB0O-82330, is revoked.

Dated: March 22, 2025
Los Angeles, California

KHALIL MOHSENI
Commissioner of Financial Protection and Innovation

By

UCHE L. ENENWALI
Senior Counsel
Enforcement Division
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