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DEMETRIOS A. BOUTRIS (CA BAR NO. 124161)
alifornia Corporations Commissioner

VIRGINIA JO DUNLAP (CA BAR NO. 142221)

Assistant Commissioner

KIMBERLY L. GAUTHIER (CA BAR NO. 186012)

Corporations Counsel

DYAN S. FARR (CA BAR NO. 196512)

Corporations Counsel

Department of Corporations

1515 K. Street, Suite 200

Sacramento, California 95814-4052

Telephone: (916) 327-1626

Attorneys for Complainant

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF CORPORATIONS
OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

In the Matter of the Accusaiion of THE
CALIFORNIA CORPORATIONS
COMMISSIONER,

Case No.: 413-0088

ACCUSATION

Complainant,

QUICKEN LOANS INC,,

Respondent.

)
)
)
)
)
)
VS. )
)
)
)
)
)

The Complainant is informed and believes, and based upon such information and belief,

allegés and charges Respondent as follows:
I

1. Respondent Quicken Loans Inc. ("Quicken™) is a residential mortgage lender and loan|
servicer licensed by the California Corporations Commissioner (“Commissioner”) pursuant to the
California Residential Mortgage Lending Act (California Financial Code § 50000 et seq.)
(“*CRMLA?”). Quicken has its main office located at 20555 Victor Parkway, Livonia, Michigan
48152. Quicken currently has reported only the Livonia, Michigan location under its CRMLA

license.
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2. On or about August 1, 2001, the Commissioner commenced a regulatory examination

of the books and records of Quicken (“2001 regulatory examination™) for the period beginning on
December 1, 2000 to May 31, 2001. The regulatory examination disclosed that in eight out of
twelve, or approximately sixty-six percent (66%) of the loans reviewed Quicken charged the
borrower per diem interest in excess of one day prior to the recording of the mortgage or deed of
trust in violation of California Financial Code § 50204 (o). The per diem interest overcharges
averaged $2186.08 per loan. The range of per diem interest overcharges was between $34.15 and
$17,454.52. The range of days that interest was overcharged was between one and two hundred and
nineteen.

3. On or about March 11, 2002, the Commissioner based upon the findings of the 2001
regulatory examination directed Quicken to review all loans that originated since the last exam,
October 14, 1999, and to determine the amount and number of per diem interest overcharges
collected from its borrowers. The Commissioner instructed Quicken to provide a complete report
listing the loans reviewed and refunds made, and to include any action Quicken has taken to correct
the discrepancies found and provide evidence that any necessary refunds and adjustments have been
made.

4. In April 2002, in response to the findings of the 2001 regulatory examination, the
Commissioner granted Quicken’s request for a sixty-day (60) extension to compile information
relating to loans with potential per diem overcharges. Quicken informed the Commissioner that it
needed the extension since all its loans are serviced released, immediately upon funding and that
recording information is not readily available to them. Quicken represented that it anticipated
working with multiple closing agents and investors to obtain the information.

5. On or about June 11, 2002, Quicken notified the Commissioner for the first time since
it had become a CRMLA licensee, that California Financial Code § 50204 (o) was preempted by the
Depository Institutions Deregulation and Monetary Control Act of 1980 (“DIDMCA”) for first lien

Quicken loans issued under its CRMLA license.

6. In January of 2003, the Commissioner informed Quicken that the California Financial

Code § 50204 (o) does apply to the loans and repeated his demand that all Quicken loans be
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reviewed and per diem interest overcharges refunded. Quicken was given an additional fourteen
(14) days to provide the Commissioner with its proposed date of completion of its review and
submission of its report.

7. On or about February 11, 2003, Quicken filed a civil lawsuit seeking injunctive and
declaratory relief against the Commissioner alleging, among other things, that the CRMLA was
preempted as to Quicken pursuant to DIDMCA, Alternative Mortgage Transaction Parity Act of
1982 (“Parity Act”), Supremacy Clause of the United States Constitution, the Takiﬁgs Clause of the
United States Constitution and 42 U.S.C. § 1983 and thus, the Commissioner had no authority to
regulate, supervise, examine or enforce the CRMLA against Quicken.

8. The claim by Quicken that the CRMLA is preempted with respect to Quicken, if
made by Quicken when originally seeking a license from the Commissioner under the CRMLA,
would have precluded Quicken from complying with the license application requirements of
Financial Code section 50124, and would have constituted grounds for the Commissioner to deny
the license application under California Financial Code section 50125. Thus, a fact or condition now;
exists that, if it had existed at the time of the original applicatioq, reasonably would have warranted
the Commissioner in refusing to issue the license.

11
California Financial Code section 50124 provides in pertinent part as follows:

(a) A license application must be accompanied by an exhibit containing
statements that the applicant agrees to do the following:

(3) To file with the commissioner any report required under law or by rule
or order of the commissioner.

(7) To comply with the provisions of this division, and with any order or
rule of the commissioner.

(8) To submit to periodic examination by the commissioner as required by
this division.

California Financial Code section 50204 provides in pertinent part as follows:

A licensee may not do any of the following:
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(0) Require a borrower to pay interest on the mortgage l6an for a period in
excess of one day prior to recording of the mortgage or deed of trust. .. ..

California Financial Code section 50307(b) provides as follows:

(b) A licensee shall make any other special reports to the commissioner
that the commissioner may, from time to time, require.

111
California Financial Code section 50327 provides in pertinent part:

(2) The commissioner may, after notice and a reasonable opportunity to

be heard, suspend or revoke any license, if the commissioner finds that:

(1) the licensee has violated any provision of this division or rule or order

of the commissioner thereunder; or (2) any fact or condition exists that, if

it had existed at the time of the original application for license, reasonably

would have warranted the commissioner in refusing to issue the license originally.

v
The Commissioner finds that, by reason of the foregoing, Quicken has violated California
Financial Code sections 50204, subdivision (0) and 50307(b), and a fact or condition now exists, that
if it had existed at the time of original licensure, reasonably would have warranted the Commissioner
in refusing to issue the license, and based thereon, grounds exist to revoke the residential mortgage

lender license of Quicken.

WHEREFORE, IT IS PRAYED that the residential mortgage lender license of Quicken be

revoked.
Dated: March 7, 2003 DEMETRIOS A. BOUTRIS
Los Angeles, California Califorpia Corporations Commijssioner

KIMBERLY|L. GAUTHIER
Corporations Counsel




