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Executive Summary

Payday loans are short-term lending transactions where a borrower writes a postdated
check to a lender who provides immediate cash, and the check is deposited on the
borrower’s next payday. Nationwide, the payday loan volume has increased from $3.5 billion
in 1998 to $40 billion in transaction volume in 2005. In California, the transaction volume

for the past two years has remained relatively stable at $2.5 billion. In 2006, 1.4 million
Californians took out payday loans. Costs for these transactions are limited to 15% of the face
value of the check. Due to the short length of the transaction, however, usually representing
a two-week pay period, the annual percentage rates for these loans are higher than 400%.

When the Legislature transferred the payday lending industry to the jurisdiction of the
Department of Corporations, the Legislature required the Department to prepare an
assessment and submit a Report to the Governor and Legislature by December 1, 2007. That
report must contain an assessment of consumer demand for payday loans, trends in the
industry and recommendations for potential legislation that may be needed to protect the
people of the State of California. That assessment and Report follows.

Demand, as a function of consumer usage of payday loans, is high in California. The largest
group of payday loan customers engage in two to five payday transactions per year. Within
that group, the vast majority of customers take out payday loans in a repetitive fashion,
taking out a new loan within five business days of paying off a prior loan. A large number of
customers take out only one loan during the year. Finally, a substantial number of customers
are perpetual users of payday loans.

The Department’s recommendations for potential legislative action can be broken into
two large categories: recommendations to improve regulatory oversight of the
industry, and recommendations to strengthen enforcement. The Department also
included other options for the Legislature’s consideration regarding regulation of the
payday loan product.

Since the payday industry meets consumer needs, the industry serves a valuable purpose.
Consideration should be given to whether this purpose can be achieved in a less expensive
way for consumers, while at the same time allowing companies to profit. The Department
is willing to work with the industry, consumer groups, and the Legislature to find statutory
language that reaches that balance.
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Introduction

ffective December 31, 2004, the Legislature transferred jurisdiction of payday lenders

to the Department of Corporations (Department) from the Department of Justice. The
legislation effectuating the transfer, as amended, contains a statutory requirement that the
Corporations Commissioner submit a report on December 1, 2007, to the Governor and
Legislature regarding the implementation of the Department’s jurisdiction over the industry
(see Financial Code section 23057). That same statutory provision directs the Department
to include in the contents of the report information regarding “demand for deferred deposit
transactions, the growth and trends in the industry, common practices for conducting the
business of deferred deposit transactions, the advertising practices of the industry..., and
any other information the Commissioner deems necessary to inform the Governor and the
Legislature regarding potential legislation that may be necessary to protect the people of
the State of California.” This Report constitutes the Department’s study of the industry, in
compliance with that statutory provision. The Department has organized the Report around
the above-referenced statutory language.

Recommendations in this Report can be categorized generally as recommendations

to improve regulatory oversight of the industry and recommendations to strengthen
enforcement, together with other options regarding payday loan transactions. The
Department substantiates its recommendations from a number of sources, including
regulatory examinations conducted by the Department, review of existing laws in California,
review of comparable laws from other states, industry best practices, and other studies.
Finally, the recommendations assume the continued existence of payday lending in the State,
whether in its current form or in tandem with other products or consumer protections. In
addition, the Department has included other options regarding the payday loan product.

At the inception, we note that this Report comprises the first of two parts. The Department
retained an independent research group, Applied Management and Planning Group (AMPG),
to survey both the licensees and the consumers in order to provide in-depth and objective
data on several variables. The Department is providing an additional report to the Governor
and Legislature, containing the findings of the research group, and further confirming the
need for the recommendations described above.
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Chapter 1

Overview of Deferred Deposit Transactions and Implementation of
Department Regulation

California is one of 37 states that, along with the District of Columbia, permit payday lending.
California’s statutory nomenclature for the payday loan is a “Deferred Deposit Transaction”
and the enabling legislation is the California Deferred Deposit Transaction Law (CDDTL). The
transaction constitutes a cash advance a lender makes to a borrower, who writes a check to
the lender. Under the terms of an agreement between the lender and borrower, required to
be in writing, the lender agrees to defer deposit of the check into the lender’s bank account
until an agreed upon future date. Lenders may charge a fee of 15% of the face amount of the
check, but no check may have a face value greater than $300. Only lenders who are licensed
by the Department may make such payday loans in California. By statute, the following
persons are not subject to the licensing requirements of the CDDTL:

- State or federally chartered bank, thrift, savings association, industrial loan
company or credit union.

+ Retail seller engaged primarily in the business of selling consumer goods,
including consumables, to retail buyers that cashes checks or issues money
orders for a minimum fee not exceeding $2 as a service to its customers that is
incidental to its main purpose of business.

Payday loans provide an immediate source of short-term credit to meet emergency cash
needs of consumers that may not have access to traditional sources of credit or elect not

to use other sources of credit available to them. Payday loan stores are located in close
proximity to the customers. Many times, the transaction can be completed in 15 minutes or
less. Payday lenders rarely perform time-consuming credit checks or evaluate the borrower’s
ability to repay the loan on the due date. Instead, the borrowers are required to provide
information easily available to them, such as identification, proof of residence, recent pay stub
and checking account information.

Since the Department obtained jurisdiction over payday lenders, it has compiled annual
reports for payday transactions in the State. A copy of the 2006 Report appears as Appendix
One to this Report. Table 1-1, on the following page, constitutes an excerpt from that Annual
Report.
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Table 1-1
Summary of Deferred Deposit Transactions for 2005-2006

Percentage
Change

Total Dollar Amount of Deferred Deposit $2,479,725,858 | $2,553,472,572 +2.97%
Transactions Made

2005 2006

Total Number of Deferred Deposit 9,785,004 10,048,422 +2.69%
Transactions Made
Total Number of Individual Customers Who 1,536,600 1,432,844 -6.75%

Obtained Deferred Deposit Transactions
(repeat customers counted once)

Average Number of Deferred Deposit 6.37 7.01( +10.05%
Transactions Made to Each Individual
Customer (Total Number of Deferred
Deposit Transactions Made Divided by
Total Number of Individual Customers Who
Obtained Deferred Deposit Transactions).

Average Dollar Amount of Deferred $253 $254 +.40%
Deposit Transactions Made

Average Number of Days of Deferred 17 16 - 5.88%
Deposit Transactions

Average Annual Percentage Rate 426% 429% +.70%

As of December 31, 2007, there were 2,403 licensed payday stores in California. The aggregate
volume of payday transactions in the State exceeded $2.5 billion as of year-end 2006,
representing more than 10 million transactions. The average length of a transaction was 16
days. The industry experiences a relatively small amount of charge-offs, roughly 3% of overall
annualized volume. These figures were comparable for year-end 2005. No similar statistical
data exists prior to December 31, 2004.

One national payday and check cashing company estimates the national loan volume for
2005 was $40 billion, and $6 billion of revenues. The Annual Report (10-K) for Ace Cash
Express, Inc. for fiscal year 2006 is available at www.sec.gov.

The Department has not prepared any aggregate profitability analysis for the payday
businesses. To do so would be difficult for a number of reasons, including the fact that

the payday stores contain ancillary businesses, such as check cashing operations, money
transmitters, or other businesses. Separating out the payday business line profitability would
be difficult. The payday business constitutes a high volume business, however, with very low
overhead. Given the number of stores operating in the State, the volume of transactions, low
overhead costs, and negligible charge-offs, it is reasonable to conclude that the businesses
experience healthy profit margins.
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Regulatory Examinations

The CDDTL provides that the Department may at any time, but not less than once every

two years, investigate the business of deferred deposits, and examine the books, accounts,
records and files of every licensee. The purpose of the regulatory examination is to determine
compliance with the CDDTL and the rules and regulations established by the Commissioner.

The Department began conducting regulatory examinations in the second half of 2005. In
the course of its examinations, the Department observed certain practices and charges that,
while consistent with the statute, may not reflect the Legislature’s intent. Specifically, the
practice concerns the duration of the transaction, and the charge concerns the actual dollars
incurred by consumers for transactions.

As reflected in the Annual Report for CDDTL, the average length of transactions is far less than
31 days, approximately two weeks, which typically represents one pay period. The short term
of the transaction has the effect of increasing the cost of the transaction to the consumer,
especially if that cost is viewed as an annualized cost such as an APR.

In addition to the length of the transaction, in order to borrow $100, the consumer actually
pays $117.65. That is because the statute permits the lender to charge 15% of the face value
of the check. To receive $100 the borrower pays the face value of the check ($117.65) minus
the fee ((15x$117.65 = $17.65).

As an observation, the cost of these transactions to consumers can be reduced, and
businesses could still profit from the transactions, if the costs of the transactions are reflected
only as fees rather than as percentages. In other words, if the statute permits the lender to
charge $15 for every transaction where the borrower takes out a loan for $100, then the

total cost to the borrower where the borrower receives $100 would be $115. As another
observation, if the length of the transactions were at least 31 days, rather than up to 31 days,
the costs of the transactions would be reduced further. Table 1-2, on the following page,
reflects the annualized costs of these transactions with varying charges permitted, $15 per
$100 and $12 per $100.
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Table 1-2

Y Total Loan Amount APR APR
Fee (Face Amount of
Borrowed Fhadd 15 Day Term 31 Day Term
$100 *$17.65 $117.65 429.41% 207.78%
$100 **$15.00 $115.00 365.00% 176.61%
$255 * $45.00 $300.00 429.41% 207.78%
$300 ** $45.00 $345.00 365.00% 176.61%
$100 **% $12.00 $112.00 292.00% 141.29%
$300 **% $36.00 $336.00 292.00% 141.29%
$750 **%* §75.00 $825.00 243.33% 117.74%
* Fee of 15% of the face amount of the check, which is the maximum permitted
under existing law.
** Fee of 15% of amount borrowed

*R% Fee of 12% of amount borrowed
***%*  Fee of 10% of amount borrowed

Compliance with the letter of the law appears to be the biggest challenge the payday
industry faces. On balance, the larger companies have fewer compliance violations than the
smaller companies, in part due to internal compliance departments that oversee operations.
Industry initiatives emphasize compliance and best practices as well, but many of the small
operations, such as sole proprietorships, do not participate in these industry groups. Follow
up examinations reveal fewer violations than noted during the initial exams, indicating the
industry corrects the violations noted during the regulatory exam.

In its publication Deferred Deposit Originator Bulletin (February 2007), available to all licensees
and the public, the Department informed the industry that the level of non-compliance with
the CDDTL discovered during the regulatory examinations performed to date was a major
concern, with emphasis placed on the violations relating to disclosures and information
licensees are required to provide to the customers in connection with the deferred deposit
transaction. However, violations related to illegal rollovers were not one of the major
violations discovered during the regulatory examinations.

As a result of the high level of non-compliance disclosed, the Department modified its
practices and began to issue citations during the course of its examinations. Therefore,

on July 3, 2007, the Department notified all licensees of the change in its practices and
explained that citations in an amount not to exceed $2,500 for violations discovered during
the regulatory examinations would be issued. The licensees were again reminded that more
serious violations would be referred to the Department’s Enforcement Division for actions
that could include, but not be limited to, citations, suspension of the license, revocation of the
license and voiding of the loans.
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In order to make the disciplinary process more efficient, the Department implemented a
program to issue citations and desist and refrain orders to licensees during the regulatory
examination process. In July 2007, the Department began issuing the citations through the
regulatory process. As of December 31, 2007, the Department had issued 44 citations. Most
citations were based on violations involving lack of or incomplete notices and disclosures
required by law.

Summary of Consumer Complaints

The Department has not received consumer complaints involving payday lenders in any
substantial amount, especially in the context of the number of licensed locations and number
of deferred deposit transactions made in California. From July 1, 2006 to December 31, 2007,
the Department received 66 written complaints against payday lenders. With approximately
10 million transactions occurring each year, this complaint volume is very low.

The most common complaint was against unlicensed payday lenders conducting deferred
deposit transaction business over the Internet. From July 1, 2006 to December 31, 2007, the
Department received 20 complaints against unlicensed Internet payday lenders. Most of
the unlicensed Internet payday lenders were located in other states, some in other countries.
Unlicensed Internet payday lenders commonly do not comply with various provisions of the
CDDTL by offering larger loans and loans with different terms, charging excessive fees, and
providing inadequate disclosures and employing questionable collection practices.

The next most common complaint involved nine complaints related to collection practices,
including phone calls and threats. The nature of the remaining complaints varies, not
reflecting a common pattern. For processing complaints, excluding unlicensed activity, the
Department provides a copy of the complaint to the licensee. The licensee is requested to
investigate the complaint, inform the complainant of the results of the investigation and
provide a copy to the Department. The complaint is closed if the response is adequate. Those
complaints that involve serious violations of the CDDTL are referred to the Department’s
Enforcement Division for disciplinary action against the licensee.

More recently, the Department has received a number of complaints from military service
members who are presently unable to obtain payday loans, as a result of the implementation
of Assembly Bill 7 (Chapter 358, Statutes of 2007) as of October 2007. That law essentially
forbids payday lending to members of the military and their dependents. Since the law has
only recently been enacted, the Department has not had ample time or experience to assess
its corollary effects, if any.
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Assessment for Costs and Expenses for Administration
of the CDDTL Program

The Department receives funding for the regulation and enforcement of the payday

loan program through assessments paid by the industry. Each licensee must pay to

the Department the pro rata share of all costs and expenses reasonably incurred in the
administration of the CDDTL program. For the State fiscal year of 2005/06, the assessment
was $500 per location. That increased in the current 2007/08 fiscal year to $941 per location.
Failure to pay the assessment may form the basis for summary revocation of the lender’s
license by the Commissioner.
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Chapter 2

Demand For Payday Loans

Although the statutory language requiring this Report calls for a discussion of “information
regarding demand for deferred deposit transactions,” the statute does not contain a definition
of “demand.” Demand for a product can be measured in various ways. Aggregate sales
volume may reflect one measure of demand if there are no constraints on supply. In other
words, assuming anyone who has a checking account and can verify their income wants to
take out a payday loan, and the lenders can make such loans to everyone who so qualifies, the
actual demand would amount to the aggregate sales volume. By that measure, the aggregate
demand has been relatively stable in California over the past two years, at $2.5 billion. Payday
loan volume appears to be concentrated in the more densely populated urban areas of

the state. The concentration of licensed locations by county is reflected in Map 2-1 on the
following page. Based on the annual reports from the licensees and other data collected by
the Department, the total population of payday loan customers in California is estimated to
be approximately 1.5 million.

To be sure, other measures of demand exist. One such measure would capture those
individuals who apply for a loan, but fail to qualify. Lenders are not required to retain such
data, however, and rarely do so. A demand measure that would include those individuals
without a checking account, who may desire to obtain a payday loan, would not reflect
demand for the product, however, since the product is predicated on the existence of a
checking account. Such a measure may reflect demand for financial assistance, but not a
payday loan product.

Artificial and unmet demands for a product may exist. Artificial demand may exist if
advertisements or other promotions encourage demand beyond consumer needs or desires.
Unmet demand may exist if there exists an insufficient availability of products or products
with insufficient loan limits. The consumer survey and focus groups to be conducted by
AMPG may capture some of these measures of demand, and such information will be
included in their supplemental Report.

For purposes of this Report, the Department construes demand as a function of iterative
consumer transactions for payday loans, a definition that reflects the number of times, on
average, a consumer engages in payday loan transactions in a year. To evaluate consumer
demand in this regard, the Department issued a survey to its licensees. The Department
designed the survey to measure the frequency with which consumers actually take out
payday loans, on average, during the course of calendar year 2006. Specifically, the survey
used a window of five business days to measure consumer behavior in this regard. For
customers who paid off one payday loan and did not take out another until after five business
days elapsed, the survey captured that level of payday use as “intermittent.” For customers
who paid off a loan and took out another before five business days elapsed, the survey
captured such transaction usage as “consecutive.”

California Deferred Deposit Transaction Law 11



Map 2-1

California Payday Lenders
Concentration by County
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Under the CDDTL, there is no limit on the number of payday loans a licensee may make to

a borrower in any given period of time. A licensee cannot make a new deferred deposit
transaction during the period an earlier deferred deposit transaction is in effect for the same
customer, and the proceeds of a new deferred deposit transaction may not be used to pay
off an existing deferred deposit transaction from the same licensee. A licensee is permitted
to make a new loan to a customer on the same date the previous loan is paid off. There is no
mandatory time period that a licensee must wait before making a new loan to a borrower
once the previous loan is paid off.

The Department determined that information regarding the frequency that consumers

use the loan product would assist in evaluating the true demand for the loan product. The
Department wanted to examine the extent to which the use of the payday loan is self-
perpetuating. The results of the Survey consolidated for the industry are summarized below
in Table 2-1.

Table 2-1
California Deferred Deposit Transaction Law Survey
January 1, 2006 to December 31, 2006

Continuous
(Consecutive)
Transactions

Intermittent (Multiple)

. Total
Transactions

Number of Customers That
Received One (1) Deferred Deposit NA NA 387,338
Transaction

Number of Customers That Received
Two (2) to Five (5) Deferred Deposit 871,948 416,430 1,288,378
Transactions

Number of Customers That Received
Six (6) to Twelve (12) Deferred 305,639 114,160 419,799
Deposit Transactions

Number of Customers That Received
Thirteen (13) to Eighteen (18) 78,042 18,764 96,306
Deferred Deposit Transactions

Number of Customers That Received
Nineteen (19) or More Deferred 57,147 17,833 74,980
Deposit Transactions
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Discussion of Survey Results

Though the Survey did not use the terms “intermittent” or “continuous” transactions, the
results from the survey lead to the conclusion that consumer usage of payday loans can be
best characterized as either intermittent or continuous. The definitions used in the survey for
multiple transactions and consecutive transactions were designed to assess the number of
times customers took a slight break between the time they paid off one payday loan and took
out another, and the number of times they effectively paid one loan and took out the next in
rapid succession.

As a starting point, we note that for 2006, the data from Table 1-1 show there were 1.4 million
consumers who obtained 10 million payday loans in the State. From the survey data we can
tell that the 10 million transactions are not evenly spread over the total consumer base. Only
27% of the overall consumer population, or 387,338, engaged in deferred deposit transactions
only once, without taking out another for some time. A number of factors may account for
this. It could be that these customers are infrequent users of payday loans, relying on the use
for unusual situations, perhaps no more than once a year. Another explanation could be that
these customers took out one loan earlier in the year, and sequential loans later in the year,
due to seasonality of demand for the payday products.

The survey results disclose two important characteristics of payday consumers. First, there is
a large bulge in the area of customers who take out two to five transactions. The vast majority
of reported payday transactions occur with repeat customers who use the loans between
two and five times a year. Second, in that bulge most of customers who use payday loans

do so on a continuous basis, as opposed to on an intermittent basis, by almost a two-to-one
margin. In other words, customers who take out payday loans from two-to-five times a year
appear to take out these loans in fairly rapid succession, engaging in a subsequent payday
transaction within five business days of paying off an earlier loan. Nonetheless, a substantial
number of customers who use payday loans two-to-five times a year, also do so in more of an
intermittent fashion, waiting at least five business days after paying off one loan before taking
out another.

The specific data show that of those customers who engaged in two to five transactions,
871,948 were continuous transactions as opposed to 416,430 who were intermittent payday
users. Of those customers who engaged in six to twelve transactions, 305,639 engaged

in continuous transactions as opposed to 114,160 who exhibited intermittent payday use.
Of those customers who engaged in thirteen or more payday loan transactions, 171,786
engaged in continuous transactions as opposed to 36,597 who were intermittent users.

Next, the Department evaluated whether the payday loan product is the appropriate source
of credit for consumers in California based on the results of the Survey. In terms of overall
costs to consumers, the payday loan product may be appropriate for those customers who
limit their use to one deferred deposit transaction and for those customers who engage

in two to five payday transactions spread throughout the year. A longer-term, less costly
installment loan product may be more appropriate for a substantial category of customers
whose use appears more perpetual rather than occasional.

14 California Deferred Deposit Transaction Law



Further analysis of the data in the Annual Report (see Appendix One) and Survey further
supports the conclusion that a reasonably priced installment loan product may be more
appropriate for a majority of the customers that engaged in deferred deposit transactions in
2006. The Annual Report for 2006 disclosed that the average term and amount for deferred
deposit transactions in 2006 was 16 days and $254, respectively. The average fee charged for
the deferred deposit transactions in 2006 can be calculated by using the maximum fee of 15%
of the average deferred deposit transaction amount, which is $38.10 (.15 x $254 = $38.10).
The maximum fee permitted under the CDDTL is used for this analysis as the regulatory
examinations conducted by the Department revealed that almost every licensee charges the
maximum fee, with very little fee competition.

This indicates that those customers that received continuous deferred deposit transactions
paid an average of $38.10 every 16 days in order to borrow $215.90. The following table
provides examples of the average fee paid by a customer for deferred deposit transactions in
2006.

Table 2-2
Average Fees

Average Loan Amount of
$254, Fee of 15%

Average Fee Paid by Customer For One (1) Deferred Deposit
Transaction

Average Fee Paid by Customer For Two (2) to Five (5) Deferred
Deposit Transactions

Average Fee Paid by Customer For Six (6) to Twelve (12)
Deferred Deposit Transactions

Average Fee Paid by Customer For Thirteen (13) to Eighteen
(18) Deferred Deposit Transactions

Average Fee Paid by Customer That Received Nineteen (19)
or More Deferred Deposit Transactions

$38.10

$76.20-$190.50

$228.60 - $457.20

$495.30 - $685.80

$723.90 +

Those customers that obtained continuous deferred deposit transactions were paying
average fees totaling $76.20 every 32 days with the effect of not reducing the principal
balance of the loans. This data indicates that these customers are able to pay off the payday
transactions on the due dates, but not meet their expenses without engaging in another
deferred deposit transaction. The data further indicates that these customers have the ability
to make monthly payments, many for an extended period of time, even when the payments
being made represent the equivalent of fees only with no reduction in the principal balance
of the deferred deposit transactions.
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Table 2-3
Payday Loan Losses

2005 2006

Total Number of Checks Charged Off (Includes Partial Balances
Charged Off)

Percentage of Total Number of Checks Charged Off (Including
Partial Balances) to Total Number of Deferred Deposit 3.44% 3.06%
Transactions Made

Total Dollar Amount of Deferred Deposit Transactions Charged
Off (Includes Partial Balances Charged Off)

Percentage of Total Dollar Amount of Checks Charged Off
(Including Partial Balances Charged Off) to Total Dollar Amount 2.63% 2.93%
of Deferred Deposit Transactions Made

336,498 307,697

$65,216,098 | $74,825,909

Losses reported by the industry increased by $9,609,811, from $65,216,098 for 2005 to
$74,825,909 for 2006. Despite the increase, losses for the industry as a whole remain low. The
percentage of the total dollar amount of loans charged off (including partial balances) to the
total dollar amount of loans made was 2.63% and 2.93% for 2005 and 2006.

Using the average deferred deposit transaction amount of $254 and the maximum fee of

15% ($38.10), the borrower receives average proceeds of $215.90. Using these averages,

a customer that engaged in six deferred deposit transactions paid fees totaling $228.60,
exceeding the amount advanced by the licensee. Even though the loan losses for the industry
are not excessive, an argument could be made that the detrimental impact is mitigated due
to the frequency customers’ use the deferred deposit transaction in California.

In conclusion, a substantial number of payday loan consumers exhibit behavior suggesting
the demand for payday loans in California is self-perpetuating. A longer term, less costly
source of credit with monthly payments could be more appropriate for a substantial
number of the customers who obtained payday loans in California. The data indicates that
a large number of these customers would have the ability to make monthly payments on

a reasonably priced installment loan product. These consumers may benefit by having a
source of longer-term credit to meet their emergency cash needs that allows them to make
affordable monthly payments on a product that amortizes fully within the installment term.
The deferred deposit transaction would remain available as a source of short-term credit (31
days) for those borrowers who are able to pay off the full amount of the transaction on the
due date.
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Unmet Demand Due to Insufficient Loan Limits

Another aspect of demand is whether the loan limit of $300 in California is sufficient to meet
the emergency cash needs of the customers. The industry maintains that the loan limit

of $300 is too low due to the high cost of living in California. One source available to the
customers that need to borrow more than $300 is to obtain additional loans at the same time
from different licensees.

To evaluate unmet demand due to insufficient loan limits, the Department obtained a list

of all loans made to customers in 2006, including the customer names and loan origination
dates, from 23 of the largest licensees. The sample comprised of 1,035,077 customers which
is 72.24% of the total customers reported by the industry in 2006 and represented 56% of

the total licensed locations. The comparison of the data disclosed that 24,810 customers or
2.4% of the total customers in the sample obtained more than one loan at the same time from
different licensees. The results are further broken down in Table 2-4 below.

Table 2-4
Number of Simultaneous Loans from Different Licensees
2006
Total Number of Customers That Obtained Two (2) Simultaneous Deferred Deposit
. . . 23,132
Transactions From Different Licensees
Total Number of Customers That Obtained Three (3) Simultaneous Deferred
. . . . 1,510
Deposit Transactions From Different Licensees
Total Number of Customers That Obtained Four (4) Simultaneous Deferred Deposit 155
Transactions From Different Licensees
Total Number of Customers That Obtained Five (5) Simultaneous Deferred Deposit 13
Transactions From Different Licensees

The majority of the customers obtained two simultaneous deferred deposit transactions,
while at least 13 customers obtained five deferred deposit transactions at the same time from
different licensees. The Department estimates that these numbers would be substantially
greater if the comparative study had included customer data from all of the licensees. This

is due in part to the number of smaller licensees that are close to the locations of larger
licensees.

In conclusion, the comparison study indicates that the loan amount was not sufficient to
meet the emergency credit needs of the borrowers reflected in Table 2-4. This may be due to
the loan limit being too low or the licensees not willing to lend the amount needed by the
borrower. The supplemental report from AMPG provides insight on the unmet demand and
the underlying reasons.
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Seasonality of Demand

One final note on demand concerns its seasonality. The Survey the Department sent to its
licensees does not capture whether payday loan volume occurs in a linear fashion during

the course of the year. The Department notes, however, that one of the largest operators

of payday loan stores in California states that its “business is seasonal due to the impact

of fluctuating demand for advances and fluctuating collection rates throughout the

year. Demand has historically been higher in the third and fourth quarters of each year,
corresponding to the back-to-school and holiday seasons, and lowest in the first quarter of
each year, corresponding to our customers’ receipt of income tax refunds.” The Annual Report
(Form 10-K) of Advance America, Cash Advance Centers, Inc. for Fiscal Year ending December
31, 2006, is available at www.sec.gov.
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Chapter 3

Growth and Trends in the Industry

A number of factors affect the industry trends, including market conditions, legislative or
regulatory constraints, and developing forms of competition. Though no California specific
figures exist prior to 2005, on a national level payday loan volume has increased from $3.5
billion in 1998 to $40 billion in 2005 based on information contained in the Annual Report of
Ace Cash Express, Inc. for fiscal year 2006.

Industry participants agree on the reasons for this growth.

Growth in these industries [check cashing and payday lending] has been fueled by
several demographic and socioeconomic trends, including an overall increase in the
population and declining to stagnant growth in household income of lower- and
middle-income people. At the same time, closings of less profitable or lower traffic
bank branches, primarily in lower-income neighborhoods where the branches have
failed to attract a sufficient base of customer deposits, have resulted in fewer convenient
alternatives for consumers. These trends have combined to increase demand for the
basic financial services [payday lenders and check cashers] provide. Id.

Similarly, the Annual Report for Dollar Financial Corp. for fiscal year ending June 30, 2007, (see
www.sec.gov) draws a parallel conclusion.

Despite the demand for basic financial services, access to banks has become more
difficult over time for many consumers. Many banks have chosen to close their less
profitable or lower-traffic locations and reduced the hours they operate. Typically, these
branch closings have occurred in lower-income neighborhoods where the branches have
failed to attract a sufficient base of customer deposits.

Other market conditions are prevalent in the industry. Substantial fragmentation of store
ownership, for example, exists and is cited in the annual reports of several companies. See,
for example, the Annual Report (10-K) of Advance America, Cash Advance Centers, Inc., for
fiscal year 2006 (“The payday cash advance services industry is highly fragmented. In March
2006, Stephens, Inc. estimated that there were approximately 23,000 outlets ... in the United
States.’); the Annual Report (10-K) of Dollar Financial Corp., fiscal year ending June 30, 2007
(“The industry in which we operate is highly fragmented and very competitive. In addition,
we believe that the market will become more competitive as the industry consolidates”). The
above observation appears to accurately reflect conditions in California. As mentioned earlier,
there are approximately 2,500 stores in California and one of the largest operators, Advance
America, owned 302 of those stores as of December 31, 2006.

Though there is substantial fragmentation in the industry, in California the top 30 operators
of payday stores capture roughly 80% of the transaction volume. In addition, these operators
owned approximately 1,500 licensed locations, or about 60% of the number of stores
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operating in California, in 2005 and 2006. The top 30 operators reported making 78.5%
and 82% of the total dollar volume of payday loans in 2005 and 2006, respectively, and are
identified in Table 3-1, below.

Table 3-1
Thirty Largest California Deferred Deposit Transaction Law
Licensees 2005 and 2006

Thirty Largest California Deferred Deposit Transaction Law Licensees 2005 and 2006

Ace Cash Express

Advance America, Cash Advance Centers of California, LLC, DBA, Advance America

Allied Cash Advance California, LLC, DBA, Allied Cash Advance

California Check Cashing Stores, Inc.*

California Check Cashing Stores Il, Inc.*

California Check Cashing Stores lll, Inc*

Cash 1, LLC

Cash 1, LP*

Cash & Go, Inc., DBA, Cash & Go

Cash America Advance, Inc,, DBA, Cash America Payday Advance

Cash America Net of California, LLC**

Cashbak, LLC, DBA, Cashback Payday Advance**

Cash Central of California, LLC, DBA, Cash Central (formerly Direct Financial Solutions of
California LLC, DBA, Cash Central)**

Check Agencies of California, Inc., DBA, Check Center

Check Cashiers, Inc., DBA, USA Checks Cashed **

Check Cashiers of Southern California, Inc., DBA, USA Checks Cashed
Check Into Cash, DBA, Check Into Cash

Continental Currency Services, Inc.

Dollarsmart Money Centers, LLC, DBA, Dollar Smart et al.

ER Financial, LLC, DBA, Payday Express

Fast Auto And Payday Loans, Inc.

Fast Cash, Inc.,

Galt Ventures, Inc., DBA, Speedy Cash

GPMM Money Center, Inc., DBA, Dollarmart Money Centers et al.
GVG Financial Services, Inc., DBA, Cash N More**

Jag, CA, LLC, DBA, Advance Til Payday

Monetary Management of California, Inc., DBA, Money Mart
Moneytree, Inc.

Navicert Financial Inc., DBA, Nix Check Cashing/Payday Today
Payday Loan Corporation
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QC Financial Services of California, Inc., DBA, California Budget Finance

Southwestern & Pacific Specialty Finance, Inc., DBA, Check’N Go

Speedy Cash, DBA, Speedy Cash

Virtual E, Inc.

West Coast Cash*

*  One of thirty largest in 2005, not in 2006.
**  One of thirty largest in 2006, not in 2005.

Increased industry consolidation rests primarily on greater confidence in the stability of
the legal and regulatory environments in which these businesses operate. Potentially, such
consolidation could benefit consumers since such consolidation would enable industry

to gain greater efficiencies and cost savings in their operations. However, passing along
the benefits of such efficiencies to consumers, in terms of lower pricing, is not inevitable.
Indeed, we note that in California, the Department has observed no real price variability in
the amounts charged to consumers. Payday lenders charge the maximum allowed under
the CDDTL. Industry consolidation may offer changes in this regard, but that result is not
inevitable.

The Department has observed several trends in the industry, including the use of database
systems for the collection of payday loan information, the evolution of the traditional bank
model, perceived barriers to alternatives to payday loans in California, including the California
Finance Lenders Law (CFLL) loans under $2,500, and cash advance practices of traditional
banks and lenders.

Database Systems For The Collection Of Payday Loan Information
Section 23036 of the California Financial Code states in part that:

“A licensee shall not enter into an agreement for a deferred deposit transaction with
a customer during the period of time that an earlier written agreement for a deferred
deposit transaction for the same customer is in effect.”

This provision of this law limits a company’s ability to have more than one Payday Loan
outstanding with the same customer at any given time. This provision has also been
interpreted in certain cases to mean that no customer could have an outstanding loan at
more than one licensed location at any given time. This provision would be very difficult to
enforce in this state with over 2,500 licensed locations in California that made over 10 million
loans in 2006.
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States Limiting Number or Amount of Payday Loans
State Limits on Number of Loan Limits on Amount of Loan
Alabama None $500
Alaska None $500
Arizona 1 Loan None
Arkansas 1 Loan per location None
California 1 Loan None
Colorado 1 Loan None
Florida 1 Loan None
Hawaii 1 Loan None
lllinois 2 Loans None
Indiana 1 Loan per Lender; 2 total None
lowa None $500
Kentucky None $500
Michigan 2 Loans or $1,200
Minnesota 1 Loan None
Mississippi None $400
Missouri None $500
Montana None $300
Nebraska 2 Loans None
North Dakota None $500
Ohio 1 Loan None
Rhode Island 3 Loans None
Tennessee None $500
Virginia None $500

Only seven states (AL, FL, OK, IN, IL, ND, MI) have a requirement for a customer database to
assist the licensees and the regulator ensure compliance with the limitations on outstanding
loans. Fives states require that only one database be used within their state and two states
allow multiple database systems that provide real time sharing of information.

A database is a system that records all the payday loans made in a state. Normally the law

requires a licensee to access a database of all payday loans made to determine if a prospective

customer has an existing loan in that state. This allows the licensee to comply with any
limitation in that state. The law also requires, in a real time basis, that all loans made are
entered into the system when made and an entry must be made when the loan is paid off.

The information in the systems is confidential and not subject to any public records requests.
Some systems are run and controlled by the state such as Florida. Other databases are owned
and operated by third party venders.

22 California Deferred Deposit Transaction Law



In Florida, the database is owned and controlled by the state but a vender performs the
processing. The vender collects a one-dollar fee for every transaction and pays the vender
for their services from that fee. Only one database is used statewide. Most states establish
the operating requirements for the database systems by regulation. States may or may not
be entitled to a portion of the fee collected. The database is the most reasonable method
and effective method of determining compliance with any limitations on number or dollar
amounts of payday loans.

Databases in all the states that utilize them appear to be operated by venders. The states
establish the requirements for the systems by regulation and in some cases share in the fees
collected. The database systems are only accessible by licensees and the state. One vender,
Veritec appears to be the operator in a number of states. The state may or may not be the
one contracting with the vender although it would appear to be more reasonable to have the
state as the contracting party to maintain control over the system. The use of some type of
database system appears to be the most reasonable method to determine compliance with
any loan limitations.

Barriers to Alternatives to Payday Loans in California

In California, other than payday lenders, unsecured personal loans are made by entities
licensed under the California Finance Lenders Law (CFLL). Therefore, any person, not licensed
as a payday lender, who engages in the business of originating loans not secured by real
property is subject to the CFLL (unless otherwise exempt by statute).

Licensees under the CFLL are permitted to make small, unsecured installment loans. In 2006,
licensees under the CFLL made 123,498 unsecured loans compared to 10,048,422 made by
licensees under the CDDTL. ltis likely, due to the rate and fee limitations for loans under
$2,500, that licensees under the CFLL do not offer alternatives to payday loans.

The CFLL limits the rates and fees for loans with a principal balance of less than $2,500 to

an Annual Percentage Rate of approximately 30%. This is compared to the average Annual
Percentage Rate of 429% for deferred deposit transactions made in 2006 by licensees under
the CDDTL. This by itself is a strong inducement to make small, unsecured loans under the
CDDTL as opposed to the CFLL.

In addition, Financial Code Section 22305 of the CFLL prohibits collecting administrative
fees that exceed the lesser of 5% of the principal loan amount or $50 for loans up to $2,500.
Financial Code Section 22305 also states in part”“...No administrative fee may be contracted
for or received in connection with the refinancing of a loan unless at least one year has
elapsed since the receipt of a previous administrative fee paid by the borrower...” Licensees
under the CDDTL are allowed to make a new loan on the same date the previous loan was
paid off, without any reductions on the fees charged for the second loan.
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Financial Code Section 22307(b) of the CFLL states,“...The loan contract shall provide for
payment of the aggregate amount contracted to be paid in substantially equal periodical
installments, the first of which shall be due not less than 15 days nor more than one month
and 15 days from the date the loan is made...” Under the CDDTL, the term of the loan may
range from one day to a maximum of 31 days. Many licensees under the CDDTL have the
due date of the loan coincide with the borrower’s payday. Under the CFLL, the first payment
cannot be due less than 15 days from the date of the loan.

As shown in the table below, the majority of the loans made by licensees under the CFLL
exceed the principal amount of $2,500. The average percentage of loans under $2,500 made
from 2004 to 2006 compared to total consumer loans made was 8.4%. Three licensees made
approximately 52% of the average 8.4% loans under $2,500 made by CFLL licensees in the
three-year period.

Table 3-2
CFL Number of Unsecured Consumer Loans Made by Year
Total Percentage
Total of
Loan Loan Loan Loan Number of
Number of | Unsecured
Amount Amount Amount Amount | Unsecured Consumer | Loans Under
Under $2,500 - $5,000- | $10,000 & | Consumer Loans $2500 to
$2,500 $4,999 $9,999 Over Loans '
Made Total Loans
Made
Made
2006 123,498 117,545 | 228,037 48,074 517,154 1,508,520 8.2%
2005 175,814 70,381 171,775 36,489 454,459 1,490,407 11.8%
2004 115,566 69,061 131,290 30,916 346,833 2,207,920 5.2%
Average | 138,293 1,735,616 8.4%

Alternatives to Payday Loans and their Costs

Interestingly, there exists very little market-based competition for the payday loan product.
The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) has initiated a small dollar loan program for
banks it regulates, designed to foster competition by banks for payday loan customers. This
program encourages banks to offer consumers a 12-month installment loan at a 36% interest
rate that does not renew itself, and perhaps contains a savings component. This project has
only recently begun, and insufficient experience exists to assess the viability as a realistic
payday alternative.

The Department has observed the growth of peer-to-peer lending programs, usually on-line
offerings by companies such as Prosper.com and others. These programs match borrowers
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with potential lenders in an on-line auction styled platform. The borrowers indicate the
amount of the loan sought along with a range of interest the borrower is willing to pay, and
lenders make a bid to fund all or some portion of the loan request. When the full amount of
the loan gets bid upon, the transaction is complete. Although this transaction may be quicker
than a traditional loan underwriting, it is not as immediate as the payday transaction. In
addition, borrower eligibility rests on credit scoring, which is not used in payday transactions.
Use of such a minimum credit score may make this avenue unavailable for some number of
payday customers.

Consumers in need of immediate funds to meet emergency cash needs, but who do not

have access to traditional sources of credit (credit cards, home equity lines of credit, etc.) do
have alternatives to payday loans. The following discusses two of those alternatives and the
associated costs. Industry representatives maintain that many banks and credit unions offer
services that have the same characteristics and costs as payday loans. These include overdraft
protection programs and cash advance programs.

An example of a cash advance program is the Direct Deposit Advance Service offered by
Wells Fargo Bank that allows a customer to obtain an advance up to $500 or a lesser limit
established for the customer, in $20 increments. The charge is $2 dollars for every $20
advanced. The funds advanced are deposited into the customer’s checking account. In
order to qualify for the Direct Deposit Advance program, the customer is required to have a
recurring electronic direct deposit of $100 or more from an employer or outside source. The
advance must be repaid within 35 calendar days. The advance plus the fee is automatically
withdrawn from the borrower’s account on the date funds are electronically deposited into
the borrower’s account. For customers that obtain advances for 12 consecutive statement
periods, the credit limit will be reduced by $100 in each future statement period, until the
credit limit reaches zero or an advance is not obtained for one statement period.’

US Bank also offers a Checking Account Advance product that allows a customer in California
to obtain an advance up to $300 or half the direct deposits made into the account within the
most recent statement cycle, in $20 increments. To be eligible, the checking account must
have received a direct deposit of $100 or more from an employer or outside agency for at
least two consecutive statement cycles, one of which must have been received within the last
35 calendar days. The finance charge is one dollar for every ten dollars advanced and must
be repaid within 35 calendar days. Payments are automatically deducted from the checking
account at the time a direct deposit of $100 or more is made into the account. A customer
that obtains nine consecutive advances will be ineligible for an advance for the next three
months. 2

! Wells Fargo Checking - Direct Deposit Service, 2007
2 US Bank — Checking Account Advance, Effective February 2007
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The fees and maximum advances for Wells Fargo Bank and US Bank (up to a maximum of 35
calendar days) are compared to the CDDTL (up to a maximum of 31 calendar days) in the table

below.
Table 3-3
Maximum Advance Fe.e SEIREE ] Fee Charged For $100
Maximum Advance
to Customer Advance to Customer
to Customer
US Bank $300 $30 $10
Wells Fargo Bank $500 $50 $10
CDDTL 3 $255 $45 $17.65

Both Well Fargo Bank and US Bank inform customers that the advances are designed to meet
needs for short-term funds and not as a source for longer- term borrowing. Both advise
customers to contact the institutions to seek alternative, less expensive credit services for
longer-term credit needs.

Bounced check fees are another alternative to payday loans. In 2005, Thomas E. Lehman,
PhD. with the Consumer Credit Research Foundation issued a report entitled, Contrasting
Payday Loans to Bounce-Check Fees that noted that data from the FDIC and the National Credit
Union Administration suggest that more than 18,000 financial institutions and credit unions
collected $32.6 billion annually in service charges from 56 million checking accounts. The
average checking account is charged $582 in service fees annually.* Some estimates indicate
that banks and credit unions derive 50% or more of their total service fee income from non-
sufficient funds fees.> Overdraft fees range from $20 to $30 for each non-sufficient funds item.
Some depository institutions increase the non-sufficient funds fees if the number of returned
items exceeds an established limit in a specified period of time. Almost all banks now charge
overdraft fees.

Historically, financial institutions accommodated consumers that did not have a line of
credit to protect against overdrafts by paying overdrafts on a discretionary, ad-hoc basis.
Whether or not the overdraft was paid, financial institutions imposed a fee referred to as a
non-sufficient funds fee. The financial institutions’ practice of paying overdrafts has become
automated in recent years. This practice was not a concern to regulators as the financial
institutions did not advertise or promote the service of paying overdrafts.

3 Under CDDTL, the face amount of the customers check cannot exceed $300 and the fee cannot exceed 15% of
the face amount of the check.

& Contrasting Payday loans to Bounced-Check Fees, 2005, Thomas E. Lehman, PhD., Consumer Credit Research
Foundation

> Sizing NSF Related Fees, January-February 2005, Bill Stoneman, BAI Banking Strategies
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The Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve
System, Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation and the National Credit Union Administration,
(collectively the Agencies) expressed concerns about depository institutions that began
marketing “overdraft protection” programs as short-term credit facilities that provided
consumers with an express overdraft limit on their accounts. The Agencies noted that while
the overdraft protection programs varied among depository institutions and varied over time,
the following are some of the common characteristics ¢ :

« Depository institutions inform consumers that overdraft protection is a feature of their
accounts and promote the use of the service. Depository Institutions may also inform
the consumers of their aggregate dollar limit under the overdraft program.

« Coverage is automatic for consumers that meet the financial institution’s criteria (for
example, the number of days the account has been open and deposits are made
regularly). Typically, no credit underwriting is performed.

« Overdrafts are generally paid up to the aggregate limit set by the institutions
for the specific class of accounts, typically $100 to $500.

« Many program disclosures state that the payment of an overdraft is discretionary on
the part of the institution, and may disclaim any legal obligation of the institution to
pay any overdraft.

« The service may extend to check transactions as well as other transactions, such
as withdrawals at automated teller machines (ATMs), transactions using debit cards,
pre-authorized automatic debits from a consumer’s account, telephone-initiated funds
transfers, and on-line banking transactions.

« Aflat fee is charged each time the service is triggered and an overdraft item is paid.
Commonly, a fee in the same amount would be charged even if the overdraft item was
not paid. A daily fee also may apply for each day the account remains open.

« Some institutions offer closed-end loans to consumers who do not bring their
accounts to a positive balance within a specified time period. These repayment plans
allow consumers to repay overdraft and fees in installments.

The Agencies expressed concerns regarding marketing, disclosures and implementation of
some overdraft programs that met the criteria for short-term credit facilities. For example, the
Agencies noted that some depository institutions promoted the service in a manner that led
consumers to believe it is a line of credit by informing consumers that their account includes
an overdraft protection limit of a specified dollar amount without clearly disclosing the terms
and conditions, including how fees reduce overdraft protection dollar limits, and how the
service differs from a line of credit. Some depository institutions have adopted practices that
appeared to encourage consumers to overdraw their accounts as an advance on their next
paycheck, without determining the credit worthiness of the borrower. Some depository

6 Joint Guidance on Overdraft Protection Program, February 18, 2005, Office of the Comptroller of the Currency,
Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation and the National
Credit Union Administration
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institutions led consumers to believe all overdrafts would be paid, when the payment of an
overdraft is discretionary on the part of the depository institution.

The Agencies also expressed concerns regarding use of ATMs and point-of-sale terminals. The
Agencies noted that some depository institutions include overdraft protection amounts in the
sum they disclose as the consumer’s account balance at an ATM, without distinguishing the
funds that are available for withdrawal without overdrawing the account. Some depository
institutions did not alert the customer at an ATM prior to completion that the transaction
would trigger an overdraft fee and allow the customer an opportunity to cancel the
transaction.

To address many of these concerns, the Agencies defined overdrafts paid by depository
institutions as extensions of credit. Therefore, the Agencies require depository institutions to
report overdraft balances as loans on regulatory reports and that overdraft losses be charged
off against the allowance for loan losses. The Agencies noted that overdraft programs are
required to comply with all applicable federal law and regulations and applicable state laws,
including usury and criminal laws, and laws on unfair or deceptive acts or practices. Though
many of the requirements and recommendations the Agencies established for depository
institutions for overdraft programs are not discussed here, the following that address
disclosures, marketing and advertising may be pertinent to this discussion for payday loans:

. Depository institutions should not market overdraft programs in a manner that
encourages routine or intentional overdrafts. Instead, the depositor institution should
present the program as a service to cover inadvertent consumer overdrafts.

. Fairly represent overdraft protection programs and alternatives when informing
consumers about an overdraft program, including other available services and
credit products and how those products and services differ (e.g. terms and fees, and
how the customer may qualify). Inform consumers of the consequences of extensively
using the overdraft protection program.

. Clearly disclose program fees for each overdraft and any interest rate or other fees
that will apply. Clearly disclose that more than one overdraft fee may be
charged against the account per day, depending on the number of checks presented
and other withdrawals from the account.

. Provide election or opt-out service, alert consumers before a transaction triggers
any fees, prominently distinguish balances from overdraft protection funds availability
and promptly notify consumers each time the overdraft protection program is used.

Since banks and payday lenders share the same customer base, people with checking
accounts, banks seem to be a natural source of competition for payday products. Two reasons
may exist for the failure of banks to offer such a competitive product. One possible reason
has to do with the desire not to cannibalize the banks’ own overdraft protection fees by
offering a lower cost product that might compete for those overdraft fees. The other possible
reason concerns the likely perception that payday loan customers offer no real cross-selling
opportunities for other banking fee-based services or products.
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Chapter 4

Common Practices for Conducting the Business of
Deferred Deposit Transactions

Under the CDDTL, a licensee may defer the deposit of a customer’s personal check for up to 31
days, the face amount of the check may not exceed $300 and the fee may not exceed 15% of
the face amount of the check. Licensees are allowed to charge one $15 Non-Sufficient Funds
(NSF) fee. Licensees are prohibited from directly or indirectly charging any additional fees in
conjunction with a deferred deposit transaction. Each deferred deposit transaction must be
made pursuant to a written agreement.

The Department determined that the electronic equivalent of the customer’s personal
check is permitted under the CDDTL. This allows licensees, including those that conduct
transactions over the Internet, to electronically transfer funds from the borrower’s checking
account by Automated Clearing House (ACH) or similar electronic means for repayment of
the loan on the due date. The borrower is required to provide written authorization for the
licensee to debit the borrower’s bank account electronically for repayment of the loan.

The Department noted during its examinations that some Agreements included language
that gave the licensee the option of depositing a borrower’s paper check into the bank or
debiting the borrower’s bank account electronically for repayment of the loan. Some of
these clauses contained authorization to debit the borrower’s account electronically for

less than the full amount of the loan at any time after the due date, in the event there were
not sufficient funds in the account on the due date of the loan. This practice could allow
licensees to continually debit a borrower’s account for partial balances until the delinquent
loan balance is paid in full. It could also allow licensees to continually electronically debit the
borrower’s account when there are not sufficient funds in the account, resulting in numerous
bank charges to the customer. Most banks allow a paper NSF check to be redeposited once,
some banks allow a second redeposit of an NSF check.

The Department recommends as a legislative proposal [as set forth in Chapter 6 of this
report] to include the electronic equivalent of a personal check in the definition of personal
check. This will clarify that licensees are permitted to conduct deferred deposit transaction
business over the Internet using ACH transfers and give all customers the flexibility of having
funds electronically withdrawn from their account to pay off their loans. To address potential
abuses, the Department recommends that licensees be limited to electronically debiting

the borrower’s account one additional time for the full amount of the loan if there were not
sufficient funds in the account on the due date. The borrower must authorize the licensee to
make any additional electronic withdrawals from the bank account, specifying the dates and
amounts to be debited for collection of the loan.

There is very little fee competition among licensees offering payday loans. Almost all payday
lenders charge the maximum fee allowed of 15% of the face amount of the check. Some
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reduce the fee slightly for certain loan amounts. For example, if the borrower receives $100,
the maximum fee allowed is $17.65. Many licensees round the fee down to $15. Some
licensees offer lower fees for the first loan and some licensees pay referral fees to existing
customers for bring in new customers.

Licensees maintain that payday loans are convenient and easy to obtain. Most licensees,

at a minimum, require identification, current pay stub, home address, employer’s address

and checking account information. Licensees rarely conduct a credit check or verify if the
borrower has the ability to repay the loan taking into other debts and expenses. Licensees are
able to complete transactions quickly, many times in less than 15 minutes.

Most licensees require the borrowers to complete an application for the first loan, only
updating the information to reflect changes upon applying for future loans. Licensees may
defer the deposit of the customer’s personal check for up to 31 days. Though itis nota
requirement of the CDDTL, the due date of most payday loans coincide with the borrower’s
payday. Many licensees limit the terms of loans to 14 or 15 days. Some of these licensees
make loans with shorter terms to borrowers that apply for loans less then the 14 or 15 days
from their payday, as opposed to making loans with longer terms, from 17 to 31 days. The fees
for the shorter-term loans are not reduced, thus resulting in a higher annual percentage rate
than a longer-term loan.

The most common method of distributing loan proceeds to the borrowers is currency,
though the option of electronically depositing the funds into the customers’ bank account

is increasing in popularity among licensees. A few licensees only disburse the proceeds

by check. At least one licensee loads the proceeds onto a debit card, paying all of the fees
associated with the borrower’s use of the debit card. In general, the Department has not
allowed licensees to use debit cards to distribute proceeds due to the additional fees charged
to the customers. Licensees maintain that the use of electronic deposits, checks and debit
cards for distributing proceeds to borrowers improve safety as less currency is maintained in
the store and the customers are not leaving with cash.

It is a common practice for customers to pay off their loans in currency. Many customers
obtain a new loan on the date the previous loan is paid off. This practice makes it difficult to
confirm that the loan was in fact paid off and a new loan granted, or only the fee was paid in
order to refinance or extend the due date of the loan. The common practice of paying off
the loans in currency also makes it difficult to confirm that the customers were not charged
unauthorized fees, such as late payment fees, excessive NSF fees and other similar fees.

As part of the Department’s Survey, all licensees were required to report the number of
payment plans entered into with customers in 2006. A payment plan was counted even

if the borrower did not make all of the payments as agreed to in the payment plan. Only

one payment plan was counted for a loan with multiple payment plans. For the minimum,
maximum and average number of days of payment plans, the number of days was counted
from the date the payment plan was entered into with the customer to the last payment date
as agreed to in the payment plan. A transaction in which the borrower defaulted on a loan,
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then made payments without entering into a payment plan, was not counted. The results
of the Survey relating to payment plans consolidated for the industry are disclosed in the
following table.

Table 4-1
Payment Plans January 1, 2006 to December 31, 2006

Total Number of Customers That Entered Into Payment Plans For Repayment of

Deferred Deposit Transactions 11,094
Total Number of Individual Customers Who Obtained Deferred Deposit 1432844
Transactions (Repeat Customers Counted Once) e
Percentage of Total Number of Customers That Entered Into Payment Plans

For Repayment of Deferred Deposit Transactions to Total Number of Individual 77%
Customers Who Obtained Deferred Deposit Transactions

Minimum Number of Days of Payment Plans 1
Maximum Number of Days of Payment Plans. 600
Average Number of Days of Payment Plans. 32

The CDDTL provides that the Agreement may contain a payment plan or an extension, if
applicable. The licensee is prohibited from charging late payment fees, fees for extending the
due date of the loan or charging additional fees for payment plans. Initially, the Department
required written extension and payment plans signed by the borrower. Though the majority
of licensees attempted to comply with this requirement for payment plans, enforcement
became problematic. For example, licensees asked if they would be prohibited from
accepting partial payments from a borrower that refused to come in and sign a payment plan.
The Department also found it difficult to distinguish between delinquent loans in collection
as opposed to transactions requiring payment plans signed by the borrowers.

Licensees routinely verbally approve requests received from borrowers over the phone

to extend the due dates of loans. The Department received two complaints alleging that

the licensees verbally extended the due date of the loans over the phone, then deposited
the checks prior to the new agreed upon due date. The Department found it difficult to
determine if the licensee did in fact receive and approve the verbal request for the extension.

As noted above, the Department initially required that extensions be in writing and signed
by the borrowers. The licensees had the option of including the extension in the Agreement
or in an addendum to the Agreement executed at a later date. The licensees also expressed
concerns about this requirement due to the difficulty in obtaining the customers’signatures
on extension agreements. In many cases, the loans were paid off before the licensees could
obtain the borrowers’ signature on the extension agreements. The licensees noted that the
borrowers would be adversely affected if extensions could not be granted if the borrowers do
not sign an extension agreement. To address this concern, the Department ceased taking an
exception for failure to have extension agreements signed by the borrowers.
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Internet Deferred Deposit Transactions

In the Department’s Survey, the licensees were asked to report the number of deferred
deposit transactions originated and closed over the Internet. Theses are transactions that
have the applications completed online and returned to the licensees with the electronic
signatures of the customer over the Internet. In 2006, 16 licensees reported making 116,779
deferred deposit transactions over the Internet. Currently, the CDDTL does not contain
specific guidelines and requirements for conducting deferred deposit transactions over the
Internet. Therefore, the Department recommends legislation that will provide guidance for
conducting deferred deposit transaction business over the Internet, including provisions to
ensure that customers are provided all of the required notices and disclosures.

Comparison Of State Regulation

A review of state payday lending laws was conducted and focused on six areas relating to a
payday loan. Information was gathered regarding the maximum amount of the loan, length
of the loan, rates and fees, the number of loans a borrower may have outstanding at one time,
rollovers and cooling off periods. This information was then compared to provisions in the
CDDTL.

Eleven states prohibit payday loans and therefore, do not have state laws for these
transactions. Of the 39 states that allow payday loans, three states permit payday loans
through a small loan act or licensing law and eight states authorize payday lending by check
cashers only.

The maximum loan amount is the amount of the borrower’s personal check that will be
deferred. California limits the amount of the loan to $300. Six states have no limit on the
amount of the loan and the remaining states’ limits range from $300 to $1000. Over 50% of
the states have a maximum loan amount of $500. Three states reference the borrower’s gross
monthly income in determining the maximum loan amount; 25% of the borrower’s monthly
gross income, $500 but no more than 15% of gross monthly income and $1,000 or 15% of
gross monthly income whichever is less.

The length of the loan is the amount of time the lender will hold the borrower’s personal
check before submitting it to the financial institution for payment. California allows the

check to be held for up to 31 days and does not include a minimum length of time. Four
states do not address the length of the loan. Twelve of the 34 remaining states include either
a minimum number of days or a range of days with a minimum and a maximum. When a
minimum is stated the range is 5 to 14 days and an average of 10 days. The average maximum
length of time is 45 days.

The amount of interest and additional fees that can be charged are not specified in seven
states. California law states a fee for a deferred deposit transaction shall not exceed 15% of
the face amount of the check. A $300 loan would result in a $45 fee; therefore, the borrower
would receive $255 in cash when the loan is made. California law also allows a $15 one-time
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return check fee for each loan. Eight additional states charge 15% with one state including

a $30 maximum. Five states include a sliding scale with a 15% maximum rate. Four states
allow a percentage greater than 15%. Twenty-five percent is the highest rate and is allowed
in only one state. There are also states that use various percentages ranging from 15% to 10%
depending on amount of the loan. Three states that allow a 10% rate also allow additional
fees to complete the loan process. Three state laws that do not specify an allowable rate or
fee but do include a maximum amount the borrower can be charged after default or after
renewals.

Debt limits based on the number of loans and the total dollar amounts outstanding are used
to limit the amount of the payday loan in 59% of the states. The CDDTL allows only one loan
outstanding for each borrower. Six additional states also have a limit of one loan. Twenty-
two states have no specified limit on the number of loans, although six of these states have a
debt limit ranging from $500 to $1,000. Five states limit the number of loans that customers
can have outstanding at the same time to two, while two other state limit the number of
simultaneous loans to three. Other limits on loans to customers refer to the number allowed
per lender or business location.

A rollover refers to an unpaid loan that has come due but the borrower does not have
sufficient funds to make payment. The payday lender will allow the loan to “rollover” for
another term if a fee is paid. California does not allow rollovers, and similarly 62% percent of
the states do not allow rollovers. Most states do not allow a borrower to take out a new loan
to pay off an existing loan or repay, refinance or consolidate by proceeds of another check.
Those states that do allow renewals also include a limit on the number of renewals, ranging
from one to six.

In order to protect borrowers from obtaining numerous payday loans a cooling off period is
required in some state laws. The “cooling off period” refers to the time a borrower must wait
before taking out a new payday loan. California law does not include a cooling off period,
however 82% of the states do not have a cooling off period. The cooling off period for seven
states range from one day to seven days and may only apply after a specific number of loans
have been made.

In summary:

« California restricts the amount of the loan to a lesser amount than most states, $300
versus $500.

« The allowable length of a loan in California is less than the majority of states, 31 days
versus 45.

« The maximum fee amount of 15% of the face amount of the check is similar to other
states, but unlike some states a sliding scale relating to the loan amount is not used.

« The limit on the number of simultaneous loans in California is more restrictive than the
majority of states. California only allows one loan outstanding for each borrower.

« California, like the majority of states, does not allow rollovers.

« Similar to the majority of states, California does not include a cooling off period.
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The 2005 and 2006 Consolidated Annual Report on the operation of Deferred Deposit
Originators, reports the average loan amount to be $253 and $254, respectively. This amount
comes close to the $300 maximum amount. The report also reflects an increase in 2006 of
the average number of loans made to each borrower from six to seven. The dollar amount

of the loans being made and the number of loans per borrower can be taken into account in
considering any change to the maximum loan amount.

The consolidated report indicates the average number of days of deferred deposit
transactions has remained fairly constant, 16 days in 2006 and 17 in 2005. The length of time
appears to demonstrate a practice of allowing the length of the loan to extend only until the
next payday. The constant percent of returned checks to transactions, approximately 7%,
and the constant percent of checks charged off to transactions, approximately 3%, for both
2005 and 2006 can be considered if action is taken to make any changes to the payday loan
product.
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Chapter 5

Advertising Practices of the Industry, including any Violations of
Section 23027

The review of advertising during the regulatory examinations disclosed that the most
common type of advertising is the use of large signs on the outside of the licensed locations
advertising payday loans or cash advances. As the payday loan stores tend to be located in
high traffic areas, the signs are easily visible to pedestrians and motorists.

The next most common type of advertising noted during the regulatory examinations
were advertisements placed in the yellow pages of phone books. The ads contained in the
yellow pages advertise payday loans and other related services and products if offered by
the licensee. The ads commonly contain the licensee’s name, address and phone number.
The licensees do not usually disclose the rates or terms in the yellow page ad, though some
include loan amounts.

Licensees advertise in the local Penny Saver, local newspapers/magazines, coupon books

and ethnic newspapers. The information contained in the advertisements is similar to the

ads placed in the yellow pages and usually do not disclose rates and terms. Licensees utilize
flyers and brochures to advertise payday loans. Many licensees make the flyers and brochures
available to the public at the payday loan store. Licensees also distribute the flyers and
brochures in the local area and through mailings to local residents.

Most licensees do not advertise on radio and television. At least one licensee placed an
advertisement on the side of a city bus and another advertised on a billboard. Some licensees
have websites that advertise payday loans and some use pop-up advertisements on the
Internet.

The most common violation is the failure to disclose in advertising that the licensee is
licensed by the Department of Corporations pursuant to the CDDTL. Some licensure
disclosures were incomplete, did not include “pursuant to the California Deferred Deposit
Transaction Law’, contained a different law reference or were abbreviated incorrectly. Some
licensure disclosures did not contain the licensee’s correct name, as stated in the license. This
makes it difficult for the consumer to verify if the person is properly licensed and to determine
if the person has been subject to disciplinary action by the Department. Advertisements
placed in ethnic newspapers and publications in a language other than English commonly
disclosed the licensure disclosure in English.

Very few violations were noted for advertising that was misleading or omitted to include
material information necessary to fully understand the nature of the transaction. Advertising
that disclosed rates and terms were stated fully and in a manner that would not be
misunderstood by prospective customers. In a few isolated instances, licensees advertised
payday loans that exceeded the maximum amount of $300 permitted under the CDDTL.
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Chapter 6

Recommendations and Options for Future Actions

Based on the Department’s experience administering and enforcing the CDDTL and a review
and consideration of information including the demand for this financial product, the
Department proposes the following recommendations to improve regulatory oversight of
the industry and to establish stronger enforcement tools. The Department has also included
various options to address payday loan transactions, for the Legislature’s consideration
including, but not limited to, options in the following areas: fees charged to consumers;
specifications regarding the length of time for deferred deposit transactions; maximum
amount provided to consumers; and an installment loan product in lieu of a deferred deposit
transaction. The Department continues to be available to assist interested parties in drafting
additional measures for efficient and effective administration and enforcement of the CDDTL.

Recommendations to Improve Regulatory Oversight of the Industry

The Department recommends various changes to the law to help protect consumers. These
recommendations are intended to improve regulatory oversight by addressing various
activities of payday lenders including, but not limited to, advertising and soliciting payday
loans, disclosure and execution of payday agreements, Internet and electronic transactions,
collection of loans, and other license activities. Unless otherwise noted, the following
recommendations would require legislation to add or amend existing statutory provisions
because they broaden the scope of existing law.

1. Protect Consumers From Criminal Prosecution

Recommend clarifying and confirming that licensees cannot refer delinquent payday loans
to a District Attorney (local prosecutor) for collection of returned checks in conjunction
with those loans. Under Financial Code sections 23035(b), (c) and (d), a customer cannot be
subject to any criminal penalty for the failure to comply with the terms of the agreement
and a licensee must disclose that the customer cannot be prosecuted or threatened with
prosecution to collect a payday loan. The above recommendation would help specify that
a licensee cannot use the criminal process to collect a returned check in conjunction with a
payday loan, even if the customer is not criminally prosecuted.

2. Enhance the Regulation of Electronic Transactions

a. Recommend clarifying the definition of deferred deposit transaction in Financial Code
section 23001 to include, as a personal check, the electronic equivalent (Automated Clearing
House or ACH transaction) of the personal check. This recommendation would help provide
accountability and oversight of electronic payday loan transactions, and ensure continued
application of consumer protections to these loans.
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b. Recommend adding a provision to the CDDTL requiring a licensee to give the borrower
an option of having the licensee deposit the customer’s personal check or electronically
debit the borrower’s account for payment of the loan on the due date, if the licensee offers
this service. This recommendation would help provide advance notice of this service to the
customers so they can make an informed choice.

¢. Recommend allowing a licensee to electronically debit the borrower’s account one
additional time for the full amount of the loan anytime after the due date without any further
authorization from the borrower, if there were not sufficient funds when the account was
electronically debited for payment of the loan on the due date. However, any additional
electronic debits from the borrower’s account must be authorized in writing by the borrower,
specifying the dates and amounts of the electronic debits. This recommendation would help
protect customers from unanticipated or unknown debits.

3. Improve Disclosures For Consumers

Recommend amending Financial Code Section 23035 to: clarify that the notice provided to
the borrower prior to entering into the payday loan agreement must be a separate, distinct
document from the written agreement; require that the licensee have the borrower initial a
copy of the notice to acknowledge receipt; and require the licensee to retain a copy of the
notice with the borrower’s initials acknowledging receipt in the file. These changes would
help document that a customer received and had an opportunity to review and understand
the mandated notice and disclosures.

4. Notify the Regulator About Other Consumer Business

Recommend requiring license applicants and existing licensees (through administrative
regulation) to notify the Department of other business that would be or is being conducted
at the licensed location. This recommendation would help coordinate oversight of businesses
with other agencies and regulatory programs that may have jurisdiction over the other
business such as check cashing. Moreover, this recommendation could help detect whether
consumers are receiving other products or services in a manner that violates the law. See, for
example, Financial Code section 23037(c).

5. Expand Consumer Protections for Internet Transactions

Recommend adding provisions to the CDDTL to address deferred deposit transaction
business conducted over the Internet. At a minimum, recommend provisions to do the
following: ensure that all required notices and disclosures are provided to the borrower and
that the borrower can download the agreement, notices and disclosures and, if the borrower
cannot download these documents, then the licensee must mail copies to the borrower
within 24 hours; require that the borrower agree to conduct the transaction over the Internet;
and provide that deferred deposit transactions conducted over the Internet shall comply with
The Electronic Transactions Act (Civil Code Section 1633.1 et. seq.) These changes would help
enhance disclosure and oversight of this type of transaction for the protection of consumers.
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6. Specify Payment Plan Arrangements

Recommend amending Financial Code section 23036 to require that payment plans entered
into between the licensee and the borrower must specify the payment dates and amount
of each payment, and must be in writing and signed by the borrower. Also, provide that
this requirement shall not prohibit a licensee from accepting payments from a borrower
after the due date of the loan without a written payment plan signed by the borrower. This
amendment to the law would help borrowers and lenders understand their rights and
obligations in connection with payment plans.

7. Clarify Extension Date Obligations

Recommend amending Financial Code section 23036 to require written agreements signed
by the borrower for an extension of the loan due date; and provide the licensee with an
option to notify the borrower by mail of the approval to extend the due date of the loan, if the
borrower elects not to sign the extension agreement. This recommendation would help avoid
misunderstandings regarding any extension of time to repay the loan.

8. Disclose Consumer’s Repayment Rights

Recommend amending Financial Code Section 23035(e) to require a licensee to prominently
disclose that a borrower has the right to request a written extension agreement and payment
plan from the licensee. This change would help borrowers understand these available options
and could thereby help them address any financial difficulty.

9. Expand Regulation of Payday Loan Advertising

Amend Financial Code section 23027 governing advertising to expressly apply to advertising

on the Internet, and require licensees to keep advertising for two years. These changes would
help further protect consumers from false advertising on the Internet, and would help ensure
availability of advertising records for audit purposes.

10. Provide Consumers With License Information

Recommend amending Financial Code section 23027 to clarify that licensure disclosure in
advertising shall be: “[Licensee] is licensed by the Department of Corporations pursuant

to the California Deferred Deposit Transaction Law” and consider allowing flexibility

to abbreviate California and/or Department. In addition, amend the code to require

all disclosures in advertising to be in the same language as the advertising itself. This
recommendation would help consumers identify the regulatory agency more quickly at the
initial product advertising stage, and help them avoid misunderstandings based on multiple
languages.
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11. Make Consumer Disclosures Mandatory

Recommend amending Financial Code section 23035(d)(2) to require (not merely allow)

a comparison of fees and related information, as specified by law. Existing law requires
licensees to post a schedule of all charges and fees, with an example of all charges and fees
that would be charged on at least a one-hundred-dollar ($100) and a two-hundred-dollar
(5200) deferred deposit transaction, payable in 14 days and 30 days, respectively, giving the
corresponding annual percentage rate. Existing law provides that the information may be
provided in a chart as follows:

Amount Fee  Amount of Check 14-day APR  30-day APR
Provided

$100 XX XXX XXX XXX
$200 XX XXX XXX XXX

This recommendation would require that the information be provided in a chart as shown
above, to help ensure that consumers have the information to make an informed choice.

12. Increase the Ability to Scrutinize Applicants

Recommend amending the licensing provisions of the CDDTL (and/or the adoption of
administrative regulations) to provide the following requirements and procedures for license
applicants and applications:

a. Require license applicants to list each person in charge of a location and require that
person to submit fingerprint information and a historical profile through a so-called
Statement of Identity and Questionnaire (SIQ). Require the licensee to notify the Department
within 10 days of a change in the person responsible for the location and submit fingerprint
information and SIQ for the new person.

b. Require the license application to state that the Department must be notified by filing an
amendment to the application at least 60 days prior to a change of its officers, directors or
any other persons named in the application. Require the amendment to set forth the change,
the effective date of the change, names of persons involved in the change, and fingerprint
information and SIQ for each successor person.

c. Require the applicant and all persons named in the application and SIQ to disclose whether
they have conducted a deferred deposit transaction business in any other state and whether
they have violated similar regulatory schemes, and require notification of violations on a
continuous basis.

The above changes would help detect unscrupulous operators on an ongoing basis and
enable the Department to bar bad actors pursuant to its authority under the CDDTL such as
Financial Code section 23011.5.
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Recommendations to Strengthen Enforcement

The following recommendations would help bolster the enforcement powers of the
Department for the protection of consumers and make enforcement actions and remedies
more efficient and effective in areas such as administrative orders, civil actions, and criminal
prosecutions. Unless otherwise noted, the following recommendations would require
legislation to add or amend existing statutory provisions because they broaden the scope of
existing enforcement authority under the law.

1. Confirm Jurisdictional Nexus for Enforcement

Recommend amending Financial Code section 23001 to clarify that a payday lender is subject
to the CDDTL when it conducts deferred deposit transaction business “in this state” such

as when this business originates from this state or is directed to this state, under specified
activities. This recommendation would help clarify the application of the CDDTL to payday
lenders operating inside or outside the state, and would help confirm the Department’s
authority to enforce the law against these operators.

2. Bar Applicants Before and After Licensing

Recommend amending Financial Code sections 23011, 23011.5, 23045 and/or 23052 to
expand the grounds for barring, suspending, or censuring persons managing or controlling
payday lenders such as officers, directors and controlling shareholders; and for denying,
suspending or revoking licenses. This expansion of enforcement authority may be based on
the following grounds: 1) specified administrative, civil, and criminal acts involving theft,
embezzlement, fraud, conversion or misappropriation of property, forgery, bookmaking,
receiving stolen property, counterfeiting, extortion, checks, credit cards, and computer
violations, 2) violations of rules or orders of the Department or of other regulatory schemes,
and actions by other agencies, 3) false statements in records provided to the Department, 4)
failures to supervise others in preventing violations of law, and 5) existing court or regulatory
orders enjoining further payday business, among other things. In addition, amend section
23045(f) to clarify that a surrender of a license does not affect the licensee’s administrative
liability in addition to its “civil or criminal liability.” These recommendations would help
protect consumers from unscrupulous persons with a track record of unlawful activity that
may occur before or after licensure.

3. Protect Consumers Through Administrative Orders

Recommend the following: 1) amend Financial Code section 23050 to allow administrative
orders for the prevention of unsafe and injurious practices and to make orders effective
within 30 days if no hearing is requested, 2) amend Financial Code Section 23053 to allow the
Department, through more expedient administrative orders, to suspend or revoke a license
for failing to maintain a surety bond as required by law, and 3) amend Financial Code section
23021 to allow the Department to assess a penalty of $500 by administrative order (rather
than a civil action as the case is now) when a licensee does not provide notice of any changed
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business location. These changes would help prevent and deter certain violations of law in a
more efficient manner.

4. Increase or Add Enforcement Penalties and Costs

Recommend the following: 1) amend Financial Code section 23051(c) to increase civil
penalties from $2,500 to $10,000 per violation and to provide that administrative penalties

of up to $2,500 per violation may be levied and collected through specified administrative
hearing procedures under the Administrative Procedures Act, 2) allow the Commissioner to
collect costs including reasonable attorney’s fees and related expenses in connection with the
administrative or civil action, and 3) amend Financial Code section 23016(b) to increase the
penalty for failure to pay the annual licensing assessment from 1% of the assessment for each
month or partial month that the payment is withheld to at least 10%.

5. Ensure Available and Accurate Records and Reports

Recommend amending Financial Code section 23024 to do all of the following: 1) require that
deferred deposit transaction records be kept for six years (rather than two years which makes
it difficult to pursue civil or criminal cases), 2) require licensees to keep and use complete sets
of books, records, and accounts of transaction in accordance with good accounting practice,
and 3) provide that the failure to keep these records of account is prima facie evidence of
CDDTL activities. Moreover, amend Financial Code section 23026 to require the annual report
to be verified or certified by the licensee or an authorized representative of the licensee under
the penalty of perjury. These changes would help provide reliable records, and to better
detect violations of law.

6. Compel the Production of Books and Records

Recommend amending Financial Code section 23048 to authorize the Commissioner to
subpoena all books and records of the payday lender. Presently, the Commissioner can only
require production of books, records and supporting data used by the licensee to “prepare
reports” to the Commissioner. In addition, amend section 23048(b) to clarify that the 10 day
provision to produce records after a written demand is not in conflict with section 23046
that requires “free access” to the records pursuant to an exam, and 23024 that allows the
Department to examine records “at any reasonable time.!” These amendments would clarify
the authority to compel production and enable the Department to better enforce the law
and to protect consumers by obtaining access to any books and records and other things in
connection with the payday loan business.

7. Expand Equitable Remedies For Consumer Protection

Recommend amending Financial Code section 23051 to allow the following in specified
civil actions: 1) appoint a receiver or conservator over the payday lender’s assets, 2) require
the licensee to take remedial action, and/or provide an accounting or audit or specified
financial reports. This recommendation would help prevent any further harm against
consumers in appropriate cases.
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8. Expedite the Recovery of Enforcement Remedies

Recommend amending the CDDTL to allow the Department to seek a court order to enforce
any administrative decision awarding restitution, administrative penalties (other than
citations) and recovery of costs without the necessity of filing a civil case and motion for
summary judgment. This recommendation would help the Department provide necessary
relief in a more efficient manner.

9. Improving the Citation Process To Protect Consumers

Recommend amending Financial Code section 23058 to do the following: 1) provide that a
citation is deemed final if the cited lender fails to request a hearing within 30 days of receiving
the citation, 2) clarify that the Department may issue a citation for an assessment of an
administrative penalty not to exceed $2,500 per violation (rather than $2,500 per citation).
These amendments would clarify the enforcement of law and provision of remedies in a
manner that better protects consumers.

10. Other Remedies Including Void and Forfeited Transactions

Recommend amending Financial Code sections 23060, 23061 and 23062 to clarify that the
Department has the authority to order the voiding of loans and the forfeiture of fees. This
recommendation would add certainty to the law by expressly addressing whether the
Commissioner can void the loans by order, rather than requiring a civil lawsuit. Moreover,
consideration should be given to harmonizing certain provisions set forth in these code
sections, as necessary and appropriate. As examples: 1) section 23060(a) refers to “charges or
fees”and “the principal” whereas section 23060(b) refers to “any amount” and “charges, or fees,’
2) Financial Code section 23061 (a) refers to “charges permitted” and then “charges and fees, ”
and 3) section 23062(a) refers to “fees on the deferred deposit.”

Other Options Regarding Payday Loan Transactions

From a policy perspective, it is important for consumers to have lower cost alternatives to
payday loan products. Peer-to-peer lending programs may be promising, but might not be
available for consumers whose credit scores are below a certain level. Other competitive
alternatives have not developed in the market. And the FDIC small-dollar lending program
and payday study are too new to yield any meaningful results.

Financial Code section 23057 asks the Department to address the implementation of an
installment contract as an alternative to the payday loan. If such an installment product is
made available, the Legislature should consider whether it fully amortizes, and whether it is
limited to not more than one at a time for consumers. It is possible for the payday product
and the alternative installment product to co-exist alongside another, one for short-term
usage, and the other designed for more extended use and repayment.
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The following options are based on the premise that the payday loan will be available to
meet the short-term emergency cash needs of the consumers, while allowing for a longer-
term installment product for those consumers that are not able to pay back the full amount

of the payday loan on the due date and have sufficient funds remaining to pay their normal
living expenses. These options would require legislation to add or amend statutory provisions
in connection with the payday loan product.

In providing these options for further consideration, we believe that policymakers should take
precautions to avoid unintended consequences that could drastically reduce or eliminate

the availability of a payday loan product that some consumers need or want. Some of the
below options may work together, while others could represent alternative courses of action.
All would require further study and analysis by interested parties concerning their potential
economic impacts.

1. Payday Loan Origination Fee

The payday loan origination fee could constitute a flat fee rather than a percentage of the face
value of the check. As an example, for each $100 borrowed, the consumer could pay no more
than $15 which is an amount added on top of the amount of the loan. In addition, costs could
be reduced further if the loan remains outstanding for a full month rather than two weeks.
See option number 8, below. Consumers could also be encouraged to repay the amounts
earlier where possible, but not in order to take out yet a new payday loan.

2. Maximum Amount of Payday Loan

The current maximum amount of the payday loan could be increased from $300 to another
amount such as $500 or $750. In comparison, California’s maximum loan amount is less than
most other states. For example, most states with payday loan laws have limits of $500 or more.
Also, the current maximum loan amount in California may be too low for meeting emergency
cash needs since some borrowers appear to be obtaining payday loans from multiple payday
lenders. In addition, the CDDTL could be amended to provide that the face amount of the
check shall not exceed that maximum amount plus the fee. Current law limits the maximum
amount of the payday loan to $300, which includes the maximum fee of $45 (15% of the face
amount of the check). Thus, if the maximum fee is charged, the borrower only receives $255.

3. Adjust Fees Based on Loan Amount

The CDDTL could be amended to provide a maximum fee per each $100 borrowed. As an
example, allow a maximum fee of $12 for every $100 up to $300, and allow a maximum

fee of $10 for every $100 over $300. This change in the fee structure may be reasonable if
the loan amount is increased and if it is based on fees charged in other states. Some states
with payday loan laws have sliding scales based on the amount of the loan, typically with
maximum fees ranging from 10 to 15 percent of the loan amount. A sliding scale is also
used in another related law in this state, the California Finance Lenders Law. This approach
enables lenders to recover more fees based on higher risk, while tempering costs of loans for
consumers requiring a higher loan amount.
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4. Limit Number of Products

As another option, current law could be amended to clarify that a licensee cannot enter

into a deferred deposit transaction with a customer during the period of time that an earlier
deferred deposit transaction is in effect for the customer with any licensee (and not just

the same lender). Most states with payday loan laws limit the number of loans that can be
made to customers in one way or another. Six states (including California) place limits of
one loan per customer, and seven others have limits of two or three loans per customer. Still
other states limit the number of loans per customer by establishing debt limits based on the
number of loans and total dollar amounts outstanding.

5. Restrict Outstanding Loan Periods

Consideration can be given to restricting a customer from having payday loans outstanding
from any payday lender for more than three months in the previous 12 months. This would
prevent borrowers from utilizing the payday loan as a long-term source of credit. This
alternative is also similar to guidance issued by the by the FDIC in 2005. In issuing its revised
guidance to financial institutions, the FDIC noted that when payday loans are used for a long
period of time, the fees charged can rapidly exceed the amount borrowed and can create a
serious financial hardship for the borrower.

6. Require The Offering of a Payment Plan

The CDDTL could be amended to require licensees to offer a payment plan with a minimum
number of six equal, monthly installment payments to all borrowers that have had continuous
(consecutive) loans for three months; and prohibit the licensees from charging the customer
any additional fees or interest in connection with the payment plan. This option could further
help financially strapped borrowers to pay off the entire outstanding balance in installments
over a minimum period of six months without incurring any additional interest or charges.

7. Implement Database to Track Transactions

Consider as an option requiring all licensees to use a uniform database to record all
transactions in real time. Allow for the cost of the system to be paid directly from the licensee
to the third party operator. The single database to record payday loan transactions would
benefit consumers by providing for immediate enforcement of restrictions regarding the
number of loans, multiple loans, terms of loans, rollovers, and charges. Although a database
has been implemented in seven other states, its benefit would need to be weighed against
any additional cost to licensees that, in turn, could be passed along to consumers.
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8. Require Checks to Be Deferred for 31 Days

In addition, the CDDTL could be amended to require licensees to defer the deposit of a
customer’s personal check for 31 days, for all transactions. Under existing law, licensees may
make loans with terms from 1 day to 31 days. States that regulate payday loans have varying
requirements for loan terms. In those states that provide a stated term, the minimum average
is 10 days and the average maximum is 45 days. Establishing a mandatory term of 31 days
would reduce the costs of the loan to the consumer and increase the length of time to repay
the loan. The consumer benefits would need to be weighed against any fiscal impact on
licensees.

9. Make Installment Loan Products Available

The CDDTL could also be amended to allow licensees to make a fully amortizing installment
loan. For instance, allow such a loan in an amount of up to $2,500 and make the minimum
term of the loan six months with equal, monthly installment payments with the first payment
due not less than 30 days or more than 45 day from the date of the loan. Also, ensure that
the borrower is not required to provide the licensee with a check or other method of access
to a deposit, savings, or other financial account maintained by the borrower in conjunction
with the installment loan. The borrower may voluntarily allow the licensee to electronically
debit the borrower’s bank account for the monthly installment payments. Finally, amend the
California Finance Lenders Law to mirror these provisions if the rates and terms exceed what
is currently permitted under that law. This option would allow an alternative source of longer-
term credit with monthly installment payments for those borrowers that are not able to pay
off the payday loan on the due date.
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Appendix One - CDDTL Consolidated Annual Report for 2005/2006

transactions made

2005 2006

Total dollar amount of deferred deposit transactions made $2,479,725,858 $2,553,302,091
Total number of deferred deposit transactions made 9,785,004 10,047,981
Total number of individual customers who obtained deferred deposit 1536.600 1432740
transactions (repeat customers counted once) o e
Average dollar amount of deferred deposit transactions made $253 $254
Minimum dollar amount of deferred deposit transactions made $9 $4
Maximum dollar amount of deferred deposit transactions made $1,000* $300
Average Annual percentage Rate (APR) 426% 429%
Average number of days of deferred deposit transactions 17 16
Total number of returned checks from deferred deposit transactions 689,540 751,091
Percentage of tf)tal numb.er of returned checks to total number of 2 05% 2 48%
deferred deposit transactions made
Total do!lar amount of returned checks from deferred deposit $180,093,630 $186,023,043
transactions
P t f total doll t of ret d checks to total doll

ercentage of total dollar amount of returned checks to total dollar 730% 799%
amount of deferred deposit transactions made
Total numbgr of returneq checks frpm deferred deposit transactions 493,780 520,752
recovered (includes partial recoveries)
Percentage of total number of returned checks from deferred deposit
transactions recovered (includes partial recoveries) to total number of 5.05% 5.18%
deferred deposit transactions made
Total dollar amount of rgturned checks recovered $107,640,408 $106,440,669
(includes partial recoveries)
Percentage of total dollar amount of returned checks recovered
(including partial recoveries) to total dollar amount of deferred deposit 4.34% 4.17%
transactions made
Total number of checks charged off (includes partial balances 336,498 307,697
charged-off)
Percentage of total number of checks charged off (including partial 3,449 3.06%
balances) to total number of deferred deposit transactions made A R0
Total dollar amount of deferred deposit transactions charged off
(includes partial balances charged off) $65,216,098 $74,825,909
Percentage of total dollar amount of checks charged off (including
partial balances charged off) to total dollar amount of deferred deposit 2.63% 2.93%

In 2005, 3% of the companies reported a maximum loan amount over $300 (the maximum
allowed under the California Deferred Deposit Transaction Law). The Department of
Corporations followed up with those companies that reported making loans greater than
$300 to determine the reasons for the amounts in excess of the limitation.
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Appendix Two - Licensee Survey

STATE OF CALIFORNIA -- BUSINESS, TRANSPORTATION AND HOUSING AGENCY ARNOLD SCHWARZENEGGER, Governor

DEPARTMENT OF CORPORATIONS

California’s Investment and Financing Authority

To: COMMISSIONER OF CORPORATIONS, STATE OF CALIFORNIA

SURVEY FOR LICENSEES ENGAGED IN BUSINESS UNDER THE
CALIFORNIA DEFERRED DEPOSIT TRANSACTION LAW
From January 1, 2006 to December 31, 2006

Name of Licensee (as shown on the License): -

Business Phone No.: ( )

Multiple Deferred Deposit Transactions (Refer to instructions for definition.)

1. The total number of customers that received one (1) deferred
deposit transaction:

2. The total number of customers that received two (2) to five (5)
deferred deposit transactions (do not count customers that received
consecutive deferred deposit transactions):

3. The total number of customers that received six (6) to twelve (12)
deferred deposit transactions (do not count customers that received
consecutive deferred deposit transactions):

4. The total number of customers that received thirteen to
eighteen deferred deposit transactions (do not count customers that
received consecutive deferred deposit transactions):

5. The total number of customers that received nineteen or more
deferred deposit transactions (do not count customers that received
consecutive deferred deposit transactions):
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Consecutive Deferred Deposit Transactions (Refer to instructions for definition.)

6. The total number of customers that received two (2) consecutive
deferred deposit transactions to five (5) consecutive deferred
deposit transactions:

7. The total number of customers that received six (6) consecutive
deferred deposit transactions to twelve (12) deferred
deposit transactions:

8. The total number of customers that received thirteen (13) consecutive
deferred deposit transactions to eighteen (18) consecutive deferred
deposit transactions:

9. The total number of customers that received nineteen (19) or
more consecutive deferred deposit transactions:

Payment Plans (Refer to instructions for definition.)

10.  The total number of customers that entered into payment plans for
repayment of deferred deposit transactions:

11. The minimum number of days of the payment plans:
12. The maximum number of days of the payment plans:
13. The average number of days of payment plans:

Internet Transactions (Refer to instructions for definition,)

14.  Did your company originate and close deferred deposit transactions over
the Internet? L[ Yes LI No

15. If yes, list the total number of deferred deposit transactions originated and closed over
the Internet.

California Deferred Deposit Transaction Law



VERIFICATION

1, the undersigned state: That I am an officer or general partner or the sole proprietor or have a position of similar
proprietary interest of (Insert name as shown on the license)

and [ have read and signed the Survey and the documents filed herewith and know the contents
thereof. I certify that this Survey is to the best of my knowledge true and exact.

I certify (or declare) under the penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the
foregoing is true and correct.

Date >

(Month/Day) (Year) (Signature of Declarant)

Executed at

(Name and Title (Please type or print)
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE SURVEY FOR DEFERRED DEPOSIT ORIGINATORS
LICENSED UNDER THE
CALIFORNIA DEFERRED DEPOSIT TRANSACTION LAW

REQUIREMENT FOR THE SURVEY: On December 1, 2007, the California Corporations
Commissioner (Commissioner) is required to report to the Governor and the Legislature on
the implementation of the California Deferred Deposit Transaction Law (CDDTL). The report
to the Legislature is required to include, at a minimum, information regarding the demand
for deferred deposit transactions, the growth and trends in the industry, common practices
for conducting the business of deferred deposit transactions, the advertising practices

of the industry, including any violations of Section 23027, and any other information the
Commissioner deems necessary to inform the Governor and the Legislature regarding
potential legislation that may be necessary to protect the people of the State of California.
Section 23057 of the California Financial Code requires the licensees to supply all
information the Commissioner deems necessary to conduct this study.

The survey is necessary to provide the Commissioner with information on the borrowers’
usage of the loan product, specifically if the loans are being used to meet short- term
emergency cash needs or the loans are a source of longer-term borrowing. The survey

will also provide information relating to the frequency and usage of payment plans. This
information will assist the Commissioner in determining if there is a need to recommend
changes for the fees charged to consumers, the length of time for deferred deposit
transactions, maximum amount provided to consumers, and the implementation of an
installment loan product in lieu of or in addition to a deferred deposit transaction. The survey
is also requesting information on the volume of deferred deposit transactions conducted
over the Internet. This will assist the Commissioner in determining if there is a need to make
recommendations for deferred deposit business conducted over the Internet.

WHO MUST FILE THE SURVEY: Every licensee who is licensed as of December 31, 2006 shall
file the Department's Survey, unless an exemption has been granted. The Survey is to include
information on all business conducted pursuant to the authority of the California Deferred
Deposit Transaction Law by licensees located in or outside the State of California. A survey
shall be filed even if no business was conducted under the authority of the license during the
period from January 1, 2006 to December 31, 2006.

DUE DATE/PENALTY FOR FAILURE TO FILE THE SURVEY: The report is due on or before
March 15, 2007, unless an exemption has been granted. No extension of the filing date can be
granted. Failure to file the report may result in revocation of your license(s).
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WHERE TO FILE THE SURVEY:

DEPARTMENT OF CORPORATIONS
Financial Services Division
320 West Fourth Street, Suite 750
Los Angeles, CA 90013

THE SURVEY FORM: The survey must be submitted on this form.

PERIOD COVERED BY THE SURVEY: The reporting period is (1) January 1, 2006 to December
31, 2006 or (2) from the effective date of licensure for licenses issued after January 1, 2006 to
December 31, 2006, unless an exemption has been granted.

COMPANIES WITH MULTIPLE LOCATIONS: Companies with multiple licenses must prepare
one survey consolidating the information from all locations into one report.

SURVEY AVAILABLE ON THE INTERNET: The survey is also available at the Department's
Internet website at www.corp.ca.gov.

EXEMPTION: Those licensees that can demonstrate that providing the information requested
in the Survey for the period from January 1, 2006 to December 31, 2006 will create a
substantial financial burden may request an exemption from the Commissioner. The request
for the exemption must be in writing and describe in detail the additional costs the licensee
would incur in order to provide the information requested in the survey for the period from
January 1, 2006 to December 31, 2006. The request for the exemption must be filed with the
Department no later than January 31, 2007. The Department will notify those licensees in
writing if the exemption has been granted or not granted. Those licensees that are granted
the exemption will be required to file the Survey for the period from January 1, 2007 to June
30, 2007. For those licensees granted the exemption, the survey for the period from January
1,2007 to June 30, 2007 shall be due on July 31, 2007.

Those licensees that do not submit the request for the exemption by January 31, 2007 or are
not granted the exemption shall be required to file the Survey for the period from January 1,
2006 to December 31, 2006 by the due date of March 15, 2007.

VERIFICATION: The Verification on page 3 must be executed by the licensee or authorized
person on behalf of the licensee. For example, the verification must be signed by an
individual if the licensee is an individual, by a general partner if the licensee is a partnership,
by a corporate officer if the licensee is a corporation or a manager if the licensee is a limited
liability company. The Verification must have an original signature. Surveys bearing
incomplete verifications or a missing signature will not be accepted and will be returned to
the licensee.
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http:www.corp.ca.gov

OTHER REPORT REQUIREMENTS:
Multiple Deferred Deposit Transactions

« The“multiple deferred deposit transactions” shall be the total number of deferred
deposit transactions (DDTs) in which an individual borrower obtained a new DDT more
than six (6) calendar days after the original due date of the existing DDT. Count
those DDTs in which the due date was extended for more than five (5) days from the
original due date and those DDTs that had a payment plan with a term longer than five
(5) calendar days from the original due date of the loan. Do not count consecutive
deferred deposit transactions as described below.

Consecutive Deferred Deposit Transactions

« The“consecutive deferred deposit transactions” shall be the total number of (DDTs)
in which an individual borrower obtained a new DDT within five (5) calendar days
of the original due date of the existing DDT. Do not count those DDTs in which
the due date was extended for more than five (5) calendar days from the original due
date or those DDTs that had a payment plan with a term longer than five (5) calendar
days from the original due date of the DDT.

« For the “total number of individual customers”, count repeat customers more than
once. For example, a customer that received three (3) consecutive DDTs and then six
(6) or more calendar days later, received six (6) consecutive DDTs, would be counted
oncein ltem 1 and once in Item 2. A customer that received three (3) consecutive
DDTs and then six (6) or more calendar days later, received three (3) consecutive DDTs,
would be counted twice in Item 1.

Payment Plans

« For payment plans, list the total number of payment plans entered into with
customers. Count the payment plans in which the borrowers agreed to make two or
more payments. Count the payment plans even if the borrowers did not make all of
the payments as agreed to in the payment plan. Count only one payment plan for
each loan, even if multiple payment plans were entered into for the same loan. For
the minimum, maximum and average number of days of payment plans, count the
number of days starting from the date the payment plan was entered into with the
customer to the date of the last payment date as agreed to in the payment plan. Do
not count as a payment plan a transaction in which the borrower defaulted on a loan,
then made payments without entering into a payment plan with the licensee.
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Internet Transactions

« Answer “yes” if your company conducts deferred deposit transaction business over the
Internet. Count only those deferred deposit transactions in which the application is
completed online and returned to the licensee with an electronic signature over the
Internet. If yes, count the number of deferred deposit transactions conducted over the
Internet.

QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS SURVEY: If you have questions regarding this survey, you
may contact Special Administrator Steven C. Thompson in the Los Angeles office at
(213) 576-7610.
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