
  

 

 

 

 

 

For SEC Licensed Firms Transitioning 
to California Registration 

October 2011 

The following instructions are provided to assist frms currently registered with the 
SEC that are required to transition and register with the State of California, pursuant to 
the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act. The Transition 
Period is January 1, 2012 to June 28, 2012.  

STEP 1 Amend Form ADV and submit CA Application Fee through IARD 

A. On Form ADV Part 1 
•	 Check the box on Item 2A(12) “Are no longer eligible to remain registered with the SEC” and 

check the box “CA” (If your frm will also do business in other States, check all appropriate States); 
•	 Complete and fle Form ADV Part 1B through IARD.  Check the box “CA” on Part 1B, Item 

1-State Registration, and fll out Part 1B, Item 2- Additional Information. 

B.  On Form ADV New Part 2 
If you have not already updated Form ADV Part II to the ADV New Part 2 (the Firm Brochure), 
please do so before applying for a CA license, otherwise CA approval may be delayed.  Go to the 
NASAA website for General Instructions  on developing the frm brochure.  If a specifc item is not 
applicable, please mention that item and its non-applicability. 
•	 Verify that boxes checked in Part 1 are consistent with narrative in Part 2; 
•	 Verify that Part 2A: Firm Brochure is uploaded through IARD and respond to 

Item 19; 
•	 Verify that Part 2A: Appendix 1 Wrap Fee Program Brochure is uploaded through IARD 

(only if your frm provides a Wrap Fee Program); 
•	 Verify that Part 2B: Brochure Supplement is uploaded through IARD and respond to Item 7. 

All information about key staf members, anyone providing advisory services, and investment 
adviser representatives must be current. 

C. Pay Registration Fee 
If your frm is already licensed as a CA Broker-Dealer, you do not have to pay this Registration Fee.   
•	 The CA fee to register as an investment adviser is $125 per frm, paid through IARD.  
•	 The Registration Fee is due when you fle the CA application. 

http://www.nasaa.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/4-Form-ADV-Part-2-Instructions.pdf


  

 

  

STEP 2 Submit Documentation to the Department: 

After completing Step1, submit the following documents (as applicable to your frm) 
electronically to IAAPP@corp.ca.gov   Forms may be downloaded on the Department’s website at 
http://www.corp.ca.gov/forms/securities.asp#cia 

NOTE:  Additional documents may also be required after your application is reviewed by the 
Department.  If so, the Department will notify you via e-mail. 

A. Customer Authorization of Disclosure of Financial Records 
The form must be typewritten or printed legibly, and signed and dated. 

B.  Advisory Contract(s) 
Submit a revised sample copy of each type of written investment advisory contract(s) prepared 
by your frm.  The contract(s) must not refect nor imply that your frm is registered with the SEC, 
nor that your frm is subject to federal regulation.   

Advisory contracts with current clients do not need to be revised, although notifcation that your 
frm is now under CA registration must be provided to all clients within 90 days, through a 
“material change” on Form ADV Part 2. 

The Advisory Contract(s) should disclose: 
	Services to be provided; 
	Term of the contract; 
	Advisory fees or the formula for computing the fee; 
	Amount or manner of calculating the amount of the prepaid fee to be returned in the event 

of contract termination or nonperformance; 
	Whether the contract grants discretionary power to the investment adviser or its 

representatives; 
	That the contract will not be assigned by the investment adviser without the consent of the 

client; and 
	If your frm does not have discretionary authority, the contract must also include that the 

client’s permission must be obtained prior to efecting securities transactions in the client’s 
broker-dealer account(s). 

C. Financial Information 
You must submit the following documents (unless your frm is a CA licensed Broker-Dealer) 
if your frm has a principal place of business in California,  and 
•	 has custody of client funds or securities;  or 
•	 has discretionary authority over client funds or securities;  or 
•	 accepts prepayment of fees more than $500 per client and six or more months in advance: 

1. Balance Sheet and Income Statement 
Complete and date no more than 45 days prior to the fling of the application and prepared in 
accordance with generally accepted accounting principles;  and 

2. Verifcation Form; and 2 

mailto:IAAPP@corp.ca.gov.
http://www.corp.ca.gov/Laws/CSL/BDIA/forms.asp#ia
http://www.corp.ca.gov/Laws/CSL/BDIA/pdf/2602412b.pdf
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3. Minimum Net Worth Requirement Worksheet 
The date on the worksheet should be consistent with the date on the balance sheet and income 
statement. 

•	 If your frm has custody of client funds or securities, it must maintain a minimum net worth of 
$35,000 at all times (unless your frm relies on the CA Safeguarding Procedures described in box 
below); or 

•	 If your frm has discretionary authority, but does not have custody, it must maintain a 
minimum net worth of $10,000 at all times;   or 

•	 If your frm accepts prepayment of fees of more than $500 per client and six or more months 
in advance, it must maintain a positive net worth at all times.

CA Safeguarding Procedures 
The Department is proposing to amend its requirements 
for IAs with custody or possession of clients’ funds or 
securities.  The proposed amendments will incorporate 
provisions from SEC’s Custody Rule and provisions 
from NASAA’s proposed Model Rule.  The Department 
anticipates releasing the text of the proposed 
rulemaking for public comment by late 2011. 

A. If your frm manages a pooled investment 
vehicle (limited partnership, limited liability entity, 
etc.) and relies on an independent third party 
who acts in the best interest of the clients, then 
provide copies of the Disbursement Procedure and 
Independent Representative Agreements. 

B.  If your frm deducts fees directly from clients’ 
accounts, and meets the three conditions below,  
indicate “Yes” on Form ADV, Part 1B, Item 2I(1):  (a), 
(b) and (c): 
•	 The client has authorized the frm to deduct fees 

directly from their account, which is maintained 
by a Qualifed Custodian who sends quarterly 
statements to clients;  and 

•	 The client has signed a Custodial Agreement 
which only allows the frm to enter into 
transactions on their behalf and the withdraw of 
management fees;  and 

•	 The client and the Qualifed Custodian are sent 
an itemized invoice at the same time, which 
includes: the asset value the fees are based on, 
how the fees were computed, and the period of 
time for the fees.                                                                                3 

http://www.corp.ca.gov/Laws/CSL/BDIA/pdf/2602372.pdf


  

     
     

 

 
 

   

                                                                                                                                                                                                       

Step 3  Register Investment Adviser Representative(s): 

Under Section 260.236.1 CCR, CA generally requires that all Associated Persons/Investment 
Adviser Representatives (IARs) are registered in CA. 

NOTE:  Under CA law, each ofcer, director or partner exercising executive responsibility (or 
persons occupying a similar status or performing similar functions) or each person who owns 
25% or more is presumed to be acting as an investment adviser representative or associated person. 
If any person who meets this requirement is not already registered, they must register at the time 
of the frm’s application.  

A. For IARs Currently Registered with CA 
IARs that are already registered in California will remain registered when the frm is approved by 
California.  No further action is necessary.  

B.  For IARs NOT Currently Registered with CA 
Each individual IAR must: 
•	 File a Form U-4 and pay the $25 registration fee through the Central Registration Depository 

(CRD);  and 
•	 Meet the qualifcation requirements under Section 260.236 CCR.  When the Form U-4 is fled, 

an exam window will pop-up and require the individual to take the Series 65 within 30 days. 

C. Solicitors 
Under CA law, if your frm pays (or intends to pay) a referral fee to another frm or individual for 
client solicitations, they must be licensed or registered. 
•	 Engaging an Entity to Solicit Clients: 

If your frm pays or intends to pay an entity (Corp., LLC, partnership, etc.) to solicit clients for 
your investment advisory business, that entity must be licensed as an Investment Adviser. 

•	 Engaging an Individual to Solicit Clients: 
Under CA law, a Solicitor must be registered as an IAR, but does not need to meet the IAR 
qualifcation requirements.   

To register an individual Solicitor as an IAR, fle the Form U-4 on CRD.  When your frm does 
this, a Series 65 Exam window will open and the Solicitor’s registration status will show 
‘Defcient.’ The individual must pay the exam fee through CRD;  this exam fee may be 
refunded later.  At the same time, your frm must submit a letter to IAAPP@corp.ca.gov with 
the name and CRD number of each individual and specify that they are Solicitor(s). 

Once your frm is approved in California, the Department will waive the exam requirements 
for individual Solicitors.  To initiate the refund process, your frm must submit a letter to 
IAAPP@corp.ca.gov  with the name(s) and CRD number(s) of the Solicitor(s), indicate that the 
frm has been approved, and provide the Transaction ID numbers for processing the refund 
for exam fees previously paid.
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Step 4.  File Partial Form ADV-W through IARD 

Once your frm receives approval from the Department and has become registered with the State of 
California, you must immediately fle a Partial Form ADV-W to surrender registration with the SEC.  
This is called a “Partial Withdrawal.” 

NOTE: As of June 28, 2012, if your frm has under $100 million in assets under management (AUM), 
your SEC registration will no longer permit you to perform investment advisory services in California, 
and your frm will be required to be licensed with the State of California in order to perform/ofer 
these services within CA. 

A. On Form ADV-W 

•	 Fill in the bubble:  “Withdraw from registration in some, but not all, of the jurisdictions with which 
you are registered (or have an application for registration pending)”    and 

•	 Check the box:  “The SEC.” 

CA Department of Corporations 
Toll-Free 1-866-ASK-CORP 

TTY 1-800-735-2922 

Online www.corp.ca.gov 
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