1	MARY ANN SMITH Deputy Commissioner	
2	DANIEL P. O'DONNELL	
3	Assistant Chief Counsel CHARLES CARRIERE (State Bar No. 285837)	
4	Senior Counsel	
5	Department of Business Oversight One Sansome Street, Suite 600	
6	San Francisco, California 94104	
7	Telephone: (415) 972-8570 Facsimile: (415) 972-8550	
8	Attorneys for Complainant	
9	BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS OVERSIGHT	
10	OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA	
11		
12	In the Matter of:) CRMLA License No.: 4130296
13	THE COMMISSIONER OF BUSINESS)	
14	OVERSIGHT,)
15	Complainant,) OPDED TO DISCONTINUE MOLATION
16	V.) ORDER TO DISCONTINUE VIOLATION) PURSUANT TO FINANCIAL CODE
17	SKYLINE FINANCIAL CORPORATION,) SECTION 50321 AND STATEMENT OF) FACTS IN SUPPORT THEREOF
18	,	,)
19	Respondent.) ORDER ASSESSING FINE PURSUANT TO) FINANCIAL CODE SECTION 50326
20)
21)
22)
23	TO: SKYLINE FINANCIAL CORPO	RATION
24	27001 Agoura Road, Suite 350 Agoura Hills, California 91301	
25		
26		
27		
28		
-		-1-

7

8

9

10111213

151617

14

18 19

20

21 22

2324

26

25

2728

The Commissioner of Business Oversight (Commissioner) finds that:

STATEMENT OF FACTS

- 1. Skyline Financial Corporation is a licensed mortgage lender and servicer under the California Residential Mortgage Lending Act (Fin. Code § 50000 et seq.) (CRMLA).
- 2. Financial Code section 50401, subdivision (a), provides that each CRMLA licensee must pay an annual assessment, and that "[i]n order for the commissioner to calculate the assessment... each licensee shall file an annual report for the calendar year just ended containing the information required by the commissioner on or before March 1 of the year in which the assessment is to be calculated."
- 3. Financial Code section 50307, subdivision (a), further provides that "[e]ach residential mortgage lender or servicer licensee shall file a report with the commissioner annually, on or before the first day of March, giving the relevant information that the commissioner reasonably requires to make the calculation required by subdivision (a) of Section 50401."
- 4. Financial Code section 50326 provides that a licensee "shall forfeit to the people of the state a sum of up to one hundred dollars (\$100) for every day up to the 10th day" when a licensee fails "to make any report required by law or by the commissioner within 10 days from the day designated for the making of the report."
- 6. The Commissioner need not provide notice of the due date of the annual report required under Financial Code sections 50401, subdivision (a) and 50307, subdivision (a).
- 7. Nonetheless, the Commissioner issued at least three notices to Skyline Financial Corporation informing Skyline Financial Corporation of its duty to submit an annual report on or before March 1, 2019.
- 8. As of the date of this Order, Skyline Financial Corporation has not submitted its annual report.

ORDER TO DISCONTINUE VIOLATION

NOW, BASED ON THE FOREGOING, AND GOOD CAUSE APPEARING, IT IS

HEREBY ORDERED that pursuant to Financial Code section 50321, Skyline Financial Corporation

shall immediately discontinue the violation set forth above by filing its annual report. This Order to Discontinue shall become effective immediately and shall remain in effect unless set aside by the Commissioner or by a court, but this Order shall not become final except in accordance with the provisions of Financial Code section 50323. It is the Commissioner's intention to make this Order to Discontinue final. The Commissioner will schedule a hearing to determine whether this Order to Discontinue shall become final only upon receipt of a written request for such a hearing, as evidenced by the mailing or delivery of the Notice of Defense, within thirty days of the date the Commissioner serves this Order. Upon receiving a request for a hearing, the Commissioner shall set a hearing to commence within fifteen business days. If the Commissioner has not received a request for a hearing within thirty days of the date the Commissioner serves this Order to Discontinue, the Order will become final immediately thereafter without a hearing.

ORDER FOR FINE

Pursuant to Financial Code section 50326, Skyline Financial Corporation is further ordered to forfeit to the people of the state a fine of \$1,000.00, paid in the form of a cashier's check to the "Department of Business Oversight," and mailed to the attention of: Accounting – Litigation, at the Department of Business Oversight located at 1515 K Street, Suite 200, Sacramento, California 95814. Notice of payment shall be sent to Charles Carriere, Counsel, Enforcement Division, at the Department of Business Oversight, located at One Sansome Street, Suite 600, San Francisco, California 94104. If the Commissioner has not received a request for a hearing within thirty days of the date the Commissioner serves this Order for Fine, this Order shall become final immediately thereafter without a hearing and the fine payment shall be payable no later than thirty days of the date the Commissioner serves this Order.

Dated: April 5, 2019
San Francisco, California

JAN LYNN OWEN
Commissioner of Business Oversight

By
Mory Ann Smith

Mary Ann Smith
Deputy Commissioner
Enforcement Division

-3-