
 

 

_________________________________________________________________________________ 
ACCUSATION 

  
 

1 

2 

3 

4 

5 

6 

7 

8 

9 

10 

11 

12 

13 

14 

15 

16 

17 

18 

19 

20 

21 

22 

23 

24 

25 

26 

27 

28 

 

 

St
at

e 
of

 C
al

ifo
rn

ia
 –

 D
ep

ar
tm

en
t o

f B
us

in
es

s O
ve

rs
ig

ht
 

MARY ANN SMITH 
Deputy Commissioner 
SEAN M. ROONEY 
Assistant Chief Counsel 
JUDY L. HARTLEY (State Bar No. 110628) 
Senior Counsel  
Department of Business Oversight 
320 West 4th Street, Ste. 750 
Los Angeles, California 90013-2344 
Telephone: (213) 576-7604 
Facsimile: (213) 576-7181  
 
Attorneys for Complainant 

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS OVERSIGHT 

OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA 

 

In the Matter of:  
 
THE COMMISSIONER OF BUSINESS 
OVERSIGHT, 
 
  Complainant, 
 
 v. 
 
ST. FIN CORP., 
 
  Respondent. 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

 
CFL LICENSE NO.: 603-C571 
 
ACCUSATION 
 
 

 

The Complainant is informed and believes, and based upon such information and belief, 

alleges and charges Respondent as follows: 

I. 

Introduction 

1. St. Fin Corp. (SFC) is licensed by the Commissioner of Business Oversight 

(Commissioner) as a finance lender and broker pursuant to the California Financing Law (CFL) (Fin. 

Code § 22000 et seq.).  SFC has its principal place of business located at 23330 Mill Creek, Suite 

250, Laguna Hills, California 92653.  SFC currently has no branch office locations under its CFL 

license. SFC employs mortgage loan originators in its CFL business.   
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II. 

Per Diem Interest Overcharges 

2. On or about March 25, 2019, the Commissioner commenced a regulatory 

examination of the books and records of SFC under the CFL (2019 regulatory examination).  The 

2019 regulatory examination disclosed that SFC engaged in unfair business acts or practices in 

violation of Financial Code section 22161, subdivision (a)(5), Business and Professions Code section 

17200 and California Code of Regulations, title 10, section 1457 (d) in that SFC charged the 

borrower per diem interest in excess of one day prior to the disbursement of loan proceeds in 

violation of Civil Code section 2948.5 in 14 of 30 (47%) funded CFL loans reviewed.  A California 

Additional Per Diem Interest Charge Disclosure was found in 13 of the 14 the loans with per diem 

interest overcharges.  The disclosures were not prepared in accordance with California Civil Code 

section 2948.5, subdivision (b) or were not applicable, and therefore were not considered in 

calculating per diem interest charges.  The per diem interest overcharges averaged $175.88 per loan.  

The range of per diem interest overcharges was between $58.67 and $392.02.  The range of days that 

interest was overcharged was between 1 and 12 days. 

3. On or about May 6, 2019, the Commissioner, based upon the findings of the 2019 

regulatory examination and pursuant to Financial Code section 22159, subdivision (b), directed SFC 

to conduct a self-audit regarding per diem interest charges for all residential mortgage loans 

originated from August 3, 2009 to the present, make appropriate refunds, and submit a report as to 

the findings of the self-audit (per diem interest report).  The per diem interest report was to include 

at a minimum the loan number; borrower’s name; loan amount; interest rate; date funds were 

disbursed by the settlement agent; the date per diem interest commenced; per diem interest 

overcharged; and the date refunded.  SFC has yet to conduct the per diem interest self-audit.   

III. 

Recording Fee Overcharges 

4. The 2019 regulatory examination further disclosed that in 6 of 30 (20%) funded loans 

reviewed, SFC had charged the borrower in excess of the amount paid to the county recorder for 

recording documents in violation of Financial Code section 22336, subdivision (a). The recording 
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fee overcharges averaged $70.66 per loan.  The range of recording fee overcharges was between 

$9.00 and 225.00. 

5. On or about May 6, 2019, the Commissioner, based upon the findings of the 2019 

regulatory examination and pursuant to Financial Code section 22159, subdivision (b), directed SFC 

to conduct a self-audit regarding recording fee charges for all residential mortgage loans originated 

from August 3, 2009 to the present, make appropriate refunds, and submit a report as to the findings 

of the self-audit (recording fee report).  The recording fee report was to include at a minimum the 

loan number, borrower’s name, recording fee charged to the borrower (HUD-1 or Settlement 

Statement), invoice amount, overcharged amount, and refund check number, if applicable. SFC has 

yet to conduct the recording fee self-audit.   

IV. 

Improper Disclosures 

6. The 2019 regulatory examination also disclosed that in all 30 funded loans reviewed, 

SFC had failed to provide its CFL license number to borrowers as required in the California 

Financing Law Statement of Loan in violation of Financial Code section 22337, subdivision (a).   

V. 

Improper Fair Lending Notices 

   7. The 2019 regulatory examination additionally disclosed that SFC had provided Fair 

Lending Notices with the incorrect agency to contact in 10 of the 30 funded loans reviewed for this 

issue in violation of Financial Code section 22161, subdivision (a)(5), Health and Safety Code 

section 35830 and California Code of Regulations, title 21, section 7114. 

VI. 

CFL Suspension/Penalty Statutes 

8. Financial Code section 22714 provides in pertinent part: 

(a)  The commissioner shall suspend or revoke any license, upon notice 
and reasonable opportunity to be heard, if the commissioner finds any of  
the following: 
. . . 
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(2)  The licensee has violated any provision of this division or any rule or  
regulation made by the commissioner under and within the authority of this  
division. 
 

9. Financial Code section 22172 provides in pertinent part: 

(a) The commissioner may do one or more of the following: 
 
(4) Impose fines on a mortgage loan originator or any finance lender or broker   
licensee employing a mortgage loan originator pursuant to subdivisions (b), (c),  
and (d). 
 
(b) The commissioner may impose a civil penalty on a mortgage loan originator 
or any finance lender or broker licensee employing a mortgage  
loan originator, if the commissioner finds, on the record after notice and  
opportunity for hearing, that the mortgage loan originator or any finance lender or  
broker licensee employing a mortgage loan originator has violated or failed to  
comply with any requirement of this division or any regulation prescribed by the 
commissioner under this division or order issued under authority of this division. 
 
(c) The maximum amount of penalty for each act or omission described in 
subdivision (b) shall be twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000). 
 
(d) Each violation or failure to comply with any directive or 
order of the commissioner is a separate and distinct violation or 
failure. 

VII. 

Conclusion 

10. The Commissioner finds that, by reason of the foregoing, St. Fin Corp. has violated 

Financial Code sections 22159, subdivision (b), 22161, subdivision (a)(5), 22336, subdivision (a), 

and 22337, subdivision (a); Health and Safety Code section 35830; and California Code of 

Regulations, title 21, section 7114, and based thereon, grounds exist to (i) suspend the finance lender 

and broker license of St. Fin Corp., and (ii) assess penalties against St. Fin Corp. 

VIII. 

Prayer 

WHEREFORE, IT IS PRAYED that: 

1. Pursuant to Financial Code section 22714, the finance lender and broker license of St. 

Fin Corp. be suspended for a period of up to 12 months; 
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2. Pursuant to the Financial Code section 22172, subdivision (b), penalties be levied 

against St. Fin Corp. for at least 14 violations of Financial Code section 22161, subdivision (a)(5) 

via violations of Civil Code section 2948.5, overcharging per diem interest, according to proof, but 

in an amount of at least $1,000.00 per violation. 

3. Pursuant to the Financial Code section 22172, subdivision (b), penalties be levied 

against St. Fin Corp. for at least 6 violations of Financial Code section 22336, subdivision (a), 

overcharging recording fees, according to proof, but in an amount of at least $250.00 per violation. 

4. Pursuant to the Financial Code section 22172, subdivision (b), penalties be levied 

against St. Fin Corp. for at least 30 violations of Financial Code section 22337, subdivision (a), 

failing to provide its CFL license number on the California Financing Law Statement of Loan, 

according to proof, but in an amount of at least $100.00 per violation. 

5. Pursuant to the Financial Code section 22172, subdivision (b), penalties be levied 

against St. Fin Corp. for at least 10 violations of Financial Code section 22161, subdivision (a) (5) 

and Health and Safety Code section 35830 and California Code of Regulations, title 21, section 

7114, failing to provide proper Fair Lending Notices, according to proof, but in an amount of at least 

$250.00 per violation; and 

6. Pursuant to the Financial Code section 22172, subdivision (b), a penalty be levied 

against St. Fin Corp for failing to file the self-audit reports on per diem interest and recording fees in 

violation Financial Code section 22159, subdivision (b), according to proof, but in an amount of at 

least $25,000.00. 

Dated: June 24, 2019     
   Los Angeles, CA      MANUEL P. ALVAREZ 
         Commissioner of Business Oversight 

       
         By_____________________________ 
              Judy L. Hartley 
                                                                     Senior Counsel 
              Enforcement Division 
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