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STATE OF CALIFORNIA  
Department of  Business Oversight  
GOVERNOR    Gavin Newsom  · COMMISSIONER Manuel P. Alvarez 

For  Immediate  Release           
March  16,  2020                          

Point-of-Sale Lender Afterpay Agrees to Cease Illegal Loans, Pay Refunds 
in Settlement with the California Department of Business Oversight 

SACRAMENTO –  The  California Department of  Business  Oversight (DBO)  today  announced a  
settlement  with point-of-sale lender Afterpay US, Inc.  in which the company agreed to stop making  
illegal loans, refund  $905,000  to California consumers  and pay  more than  $90,000  in  administrative  
fees.   

The refunds represent all the fees Afterpay has collected from more than 640,000 Californians in 
so-called “buy now, pay later” transactions that the DBO concluded were illegal loans. Afterpay must 
issue refunds within 45 days. Consumers who believe they may be entitled to a refund should call 
Afterpay at 1-855-597-7368. 

After an inquiry launched last year, the DBO concluded Afterpay had engaged in the business of a finance 
lender without obtaining a required license. Under the settlement, Afterpay will only make future loans 
or extensions of credit to California residents under a California Financing Law (CFL) license issued to its 
affiliate, Afterpay US Services, LLC.  

Like other point-of-sale financers, Afterpay targets young consumers who are unable to qualify for 
traditional financing options like credit cards. Consumers pay Afterpay 25 percent of the purchase price at 
the time of the purchase and the remainder in three equal installments.  Merchants pay Afterpay a cut of 
each transaction and consumers pay Afterpay late fees if they miss a payment. 

The DBO reached a similar settlement on Jan. 16 with another point-of-sale lender, Sezzle, which agreed 
to pay more than $300,000 in refunds and penalties. In both cases, the DBO concluded purported credit 
sales made by the lenders’ merchant partners were not bona fide but, rather, were structured to evade 
otherwise applicable consumer protections. 

The DBO licenses and regulates financial services, including state-chartered banks and credit unions, 
student loan servicers, money transmitters, securities broker-dealers, investment advisers, non-bank 
installment lenders, payday lenders, mortgage lenders and servicers, escrow companies, franchisors 
and more. 
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