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Comments Regarding Modifications to Proposed Regulations  
Under Division 9.5 of the California Financial Code  

Commercial Financing Disclosures (PRO 01-18) 
 
The Commercial Finance Coalition (“CFC”) is comprised of responsible finance companies that provide 
needed capital to small businesses through innovative methods.  CFC members offer accounts receivable 
purchase financing to small businesses (also known as merchant cash advance or “MCA”), and some 
members also engage in lending in the state of California through a California Financing Law license.  Our 
members also include select vendors that provide technology services to the small business finance 
industry.  This letter responds to the Department of Financial Protection and Innovation’s “Notice of 
Modifications to Proposed Regulations Under Division 9.5 of the California Financial Code” dated April 7, 
2021. 
 
We respectfully submit the following 10 comments: 
 
1. Effective Date of Regulations 
 
In the DFPI’s Initial Statement of Reasons released on September 2020 (https://dfpi.ca.gov/wp-
content/uploads/sites/337/2020/09/Initial-Statement-of-Reasons-SB-1235-9.2.pdf), the DFPI stated that 
it would delay the effective date as follows: 
 

Effective Date of the Regulations 
 
The Department anticipates that the proposed regulations will go into effect, if adopted 
on or before January 1, 2021, on July 1, 2021. Since the proposed regulations will require 
affected businesses to implement new practices and procedures, July 1, 2021 represents 
a 6-month delay from the anticipated date of adoption in order to come into compliance. 
If, however, the proposed regulations are adopted after January 1, 2021, the effective 
date will adjust accordingly to maintain a 6-month delay in effectiveness. effectiveness of 
the regulations for at least 6 months.  

 
However, in the most recent Notice of Modifications to Proposed Regulations, the DFPI made the 
following statement: 
 

Please note that the proposed modifications are not yet effective and will not be effective 
until approved by the Office of Administrative Law and filed with the Secretary of State in 
accordance with Government Code section 11349.3. 

 
If the proposed regulations go into effect accordance with Government Code section 11349.3, the 
effective date could be fewer than 6 months from adoption. We respectfully request that the DFPI honor 
the initial statement that effectiveness would be delayed at least 6 months. 
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2. Timing of Providing the Disclosure 
 
Section § 2057(a)(4)(B) adds the following to the definition of “At the time of extending a specific 
commercial financing offer”:   
 

A. Any time  a specific periodic payment or irregular payment amount,  rate or price, in 
connection with a commercial financing, is quoted in writing  to a recipient, based upon 
information from, or about, the recipient; and   

 
B. Within one business day of any time a specific periodic payment or irregular  payment 

amount, rate or price, in connection with a commercial financing, is verbally quoted to a 
recipient, based upon information from, or about, the recipient, and before the commercial 
financing transaction is consummated;   

 
It is unclear how a provider of commercial financing can reasonably comply with the requirement in (B) if 
any of the payment amount, rate or price terms are “verbally quoted” by a broker or other third party. In 
addition, a provider of commercial financing would be unable to defend itself against a claim that the 
provider failed to provide the disclosure within one business day of such “verbally quoted” information if 
there is no written record.  Subsection (B) creates exposure for providers that they cannot reasonably 
defend against except by refuting that terms were verbally quoted to the recipient, with no means to 
provide additional support for the provider’s claim.  
 
This requirement also is in conflict with California SB 1235’s requirement to provide the disclosures “to a 
recipient at the time of extending a specific commercial financing offer to that recipient.” (California SB 
1235 Section 22802(a)).  A verbal quote of terms is not an offer that a recipient can orally accept to bind 
the provider and should not, then, be treated as an offer to the recipient.   
 
We further request that the DFPI clarify that by “specific” payment amounts, rate or price, a quote of a 
range of possible terms is not “specific” and would not, as a result, trigger the disclosure requirement. 
 
3. Reasonably Anticipated True-Up 
 
Section 2065(a)(6)(iii) requires disclosure at origination of the date and amount of any “reasonably 
anticipated true-ups.” The definition of the term “reasonably anticipated true‐up” in Section 2057(a)(27) 
has been revised as follows:  
 

Reasonably anticipated true‐up” means any true‐up that the financing provider has a 
reasonable basis to expect will be made during the term of the contract, taking into 
account accounting for past performance of similar contracts (both those made to the 
recipient and other similar recipients) and the policies and procedures of the financer.   

 
Unless the recipient business communicates to the financing provider that its business is seasonal, a 
financing provider has no way to reasonably anticipate a true up, even “accounting for past performance 
of similar contracts.” 
 
As a result, the requirement in Section 2065(a)(6)(iii) for a sales-based financing provider to disclose the 
date and amount of any reasonably anticipated true-ups will be difficult, if not impossible to comply with.  
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We respectfully ask the DFPI to remove the definition of “reasonably anticipated true-up” and the 
requirement to disclose the date and amount of any reasonably anticipated true-ups. 
 
4. The Language Related to “If the Amount Financed is Less Than the Funds Available to the 

Recipient” is Unclear  
 
Section § 2065 provides as follows: 
 

Sales‐Based Financing Disclosure Formatting  
 

a) Disclosures for all sales‐based financing provided in accordance with section 22802 of the 
Code, except for asset‐based lending that meets the definition of sales‐based financing, 
shall comply with the following requirements:  

 
1) The provider shall present the required disclosures in a table consisting of eight 

nine rows and three columns.  
 
2) The first row of the table shall include only the following information:  

a. In the first column, the following language: “Funding You Will Receive” 
Provided.” 

b. In the second column, the amount of funds that will be provided to the 
recipient, excluding any deductions such as origination charges and 
amounts used to pay off  other financings financed.  

c. In the third column, a description of how the amount in the second 
column was calculated, including order listed and in one paragraph:  
(i) “This is how much funding [name of financer] will provide.”  

(ii)  If the amount financed is less than the funds available to the 
recipient and the amount and description of any deductions. 
financed does not include funds paid to brokers: “Due to 
deductions or payments to others, the total funds that will be 
provided to you directly is [recipient funds].  For example: “This 
is your advance more information on what amounts will be 
deducted, please review the attached document “Funding You 
Will Receive.””   

(iii)  If the amount of [advance financed is less than the funds 
available to the recipient, and the amount] minus the [amount 
and description of fees deducted] financed includes funds paid to 
brokers: “We expect the total funds that will be deducted.” 
provided to you directly is [recipient funds] due to deductions or 
payments to other parties. For example, we will deduct [funds 
paid to brokers] to pay [“a broker”/ “brokers”]. For more 
information on what amounts will be deducted, please review 
the attached document “Funding You Will Receive.” 

 
We are unfamiliar with situations in which the amount financed would be less than the funds avaiable to 
the recipient.  In other places in the proposed regulation, the inverse is covered (when the funds available 
to the recipient are less than the amount financed), such as the “Funding You Will Receive” disclosure in 
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Section 3027 that discloses the amount financed labeled as “Funding Provided” and then subtracts 
deductions to disclose the recipient funds.    
 
We respectfully request that the DFPI provide additional clarity on what it means by disclosures required 
“If the amount financed is less than the funds available to the recipient.” 
 
5. The “Purchased Amount” of Receipts is Not Based Upon Fees Charged by the Financing Provider 
 
Section § 2065(a)(3)(D) provides for the following disclosure: 
 

If no part of the finance charge is based upon an interest rate, the following  language in 
addition to the language required by subdivision (3)(C) of this section:  “APR it is not an 
interest rate. The amount cost of the finance charge you will  pay this financing is not 
based upon an fees charged by [financer] rather than interest rate that accrues over time. 
 

This disclosure conflates the difference between the Purchase Price paid to the recipient and the 
Purchased Amount with a “fee.” This is misleading and does not accurately describe the transaction. 
 
6. The Disclosure of the “Maximum Non-Interest Finance Charge” Incorrectly Implies a 

Prepayment Penalty is Required 
 
Section § 2065(a)(10) requires the following disclosure:  
 

In the seventh row, the second and third columns shall be combined and shall include  
only:   
 

A. If, at any time during the term of the transaction, prepayment of the outstanding balance 
due will require the recipient to pay finance charges other than interest accrued since the 
recipient’s last payment, the following statement, “If you pay off the financing faster than 
required, you will be required to still must pay all or a portion of the finance charge, up 
to $[maximum non‐interest finance charge] based upon our estimates.”  

B.  In all other cases, the following statement: “If you pay off the financing faster than 
required, you will not be required to pay any portion of the finance charge other than 
unpaid interest owed since your last payment accrued.” 

 
Requiring the disclosure of a “finance charge” up to the “maximum non‐interest finance charge” will likely 
confuse business owners into thinking that there is an additional amount charged for paying faster than 
required. 
 
7. A Sales-Based Financing Transaction is Not a “Loan” 
 
Section § 2091(b)(2) requires the following that applies only to sales-based financing:   
 

A provider shall fix the number of months considered to determine the recipient’s 
average monthly historical sales, or income income, or receipts for  all transactions, or by 
recipient industry or loan size (or both), provided that the  period of historical data used 
by the provider shall not be less than four (4)  months or more than twelve (12) months. 
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We respectfully request that the word “loan” be changed to “transaction.” 
 
8. The Problem With Transactions That Require Payments Only on Weekdays 
 
In Section § 3001 “Calculation of Annual Percentage Rate”, the following provision has been deleted from 
the section entitled “Calculation of Annual Percentage Rate”: 
 

(c) When calculating the annual percentage rate, a provider may assume that it can collect  
payments on every calendar day, regardless of bank holidays, weekends, or other days that  would 
otherwise delay or accelerate the provider’s collection of a payment. 

 
An APR calculation for weekly and daily payments, if done accurately to account for weekends and 
holidays, can vary depending if the funding is done on a Monday or a Friday of the same week – even 
though it is the exact same product offer.  Our research also indicates the online Annual Percentage Rate 
program (available at https://www.ffiec.gov/calculators.htm), does not calculate accurately for those 
products that anticipate payments only on weekdays. 
 
Because there is a no publicly available calculator that can do this calculation, this disclosure requirement 
will exponentially increase costs of compliance.  In addition, the inability to make an assumption that 
simplifies the calculation will increase litigation risk for providers of sales-based financing.  As a result, this 
requirement will have an anticompetitive effect.  Sales-based financing providers will likely raise the cost 
of their products or refrain from offering needed access to capital to California businesses.  
 
We note that the APR calculations under TILA allow a provider to disregard the effects of certain factors 
in order to simplify the APR calculation, apparently in recognition of the complications and expense that 
would arise were creditors not permitted to do so.  In particular, Regulation Z allows creditors to disregard 
that payments must be collected in whole cents, that dates of scheduled payments and advances may be 
changed because the scheduled date is not a business day, that months have different numbers of days, 
and the occurrence of a leap year.  12 CFR 1026.17(c)(3).  Further, creditors are also permitted to disregard 
any irregularity in the first payment period that falls within certain prescribed limits.  12 CFR 1026.17(c)(4).  
The ability to disregard that dates of scheduled payments and advances may be changed because the 
scheduled date is not a business day, in particular, recognizes the complexity (and increased cost) that 
would result were the calculation to have to account for these days, as the DFPI’s proposal requires.  
 
We respectfully request that the DFPI allow (but not require) providers to assume that it can collect 
payments on every calendar day.  We also respectfully request that the DFPI either choose an easier-to-
calculate method of disclosing an annual rate such as the Annualized Cost of Capital or create a safe harbor 
for good-faith attempts to calculate the Estimated APR for the first year of implementation.  
 
9. Litigation and Recharacterization Risk 
 
The newly added Section § 3024(b) provides as follows: 
 

a) The rules of this Chapter are not intended to:   
 

(1) Clarify or interpret existing California law with respect to the definitions of loan, 
sale,  and lease, as those terms may apply to the commercial financing transactions 
regulated by this  Chapter.   
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(2) Affect the Department of Business Oversight’s Financial Protection and 
Innovation’s authority to regulate any person or transaction under other laws under 
its jurisdiction, except to  the extent permitted by section 22805 of the Code.   

 
(b)  A provider’s mere use of any of the following words as required by this Chapter shall 
not  constitute evidence that a financer’s contract with a recipient is or is not a loan under 
California  law: term or estimated term, interest, interest rate, payment or estimated 
payment, Annual  Percentage Rate (APR) or Estimated Annual Percentage Rate, 
prepayment or pay off. This  subdivision shall not preclude a trier of fact from considering 
a provider’s statements in the  disclosures required by this Chapter when assessing 
whether a transaction, based upon the totality of the circumstances, is a loan under 
California law. 

 
It appears that this language was added to address the significant litigation risk that providers of 
commercial financing face in the wake of the disclosure requirements. However, expressly allowing a 
judge or jury to view the disclosures as evidence that a transaction was a loan under California law creates 
more harm.  
 
We respectfully ask that the DFPI: 
 

• Add “or create a presumption” after “constitute evidence” in the first sentence of (b); and 
 

• Delete the second sentence of (b) so that this provision would read as follows: 
 

(b)  A provider’s mere use of any of the following words as required by this Chapter shall 
not  constitute evidence or create a presumption that a financer’s contract with a 
recipient is or is not a loan under California  law: term or estimated term, interest, interest 
rate, payment or estimated payment, Annual  Percentage Rate (APR) or Estimated Annual 
Percentage Rate, prepayment or pay off. 

 
10. The “Estimated Monthly Cost” Disclosure Will Create Customer Confusion and Provider Liability 
 
Section 2065(a)(12) requires a sales-based financing provider to disclose the “Estimated Monthly Cost” if 
the contract provides for periodic payments that are not monthly.  As the DFPI has refined the definition 
of “Estimated APR” it has become apparent that the Estimated Monthly Cost disclosure is based on a 
calculation that is wholly different from the “Estimated APR” disclosure.  As a result, the disclosures will 
feature a monthly representation of the cost of capital that is unrelated to the annual representation of 
the cost of capital. This will confuse customers and create liability for providers of financing related to 
claims that the disclosures are deceptive.  We also note that SB 1235 did not include an “Estimated 
Monthly Cost” disclosure in its mandate that the DFPI adopt regulations.  We respectfully request that the 
DFPI remove the “Estimated Monthly Cost” disclosure from the regulations.  


