5 6 7 State of California - Department of Financial Protection and Innovation 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23

24

25

26

27

28

1

2

3

4

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL PROTECTION AND INNOVATION OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

In the Matter of: THE COMMISSIONER OF FINANCIAL PROTECTION AND INNOVATION,

Respondent.

Complainant, v.

Eastwood Contact Center LLC,

) DCLA LICENSE NO.: 12215-99

DESIST AND REFRAIN ORDER AND ORDER ASSESSING PENALTIES

(Cal. Fin. Code § 90015(b), (c), (d)(1))

The Complainant, the Commissioner of Financial Protection and Innovation (Commissioner) of the Department of Financial Protection and Innovation (Department) is informed and believes, and based upon such information and belief, alleges and charges Eastwood Contact Center LLC (Respondent) as follows:

I.

Introduction

 The Commissioner has jurisdiction over the licensing and regulation of persons engaged in the business of debt collection in California under the Debt Collection Licensing Act (DCLA) (Cal. Fin. Code §§ 100000-100025) and the rules and regulations promulgated thereunder.

The Commissioner also has jurisdiction over the regulation of persons who engage, have engaged, and propose to engage in offering or providing a consumer financial product or service in California and affiliated service providers under the California Consumer Financial Protection Law (CCFPL) (Cal. Fin. Code §§ 90000 – 90019).

3. Respondent is an Ohio Limited Liability Company.

4. Respondent is a debt collector licensed by the Commissioner under the DCLA with
license number 12215-99. Respondent's principal place of business is 40 Northwoods Blvd. Suite
E, Columbus, Ohio 43235.

1 2 **Factual Background** 3 5. Respondent collects debt related to a consumer financial product or service as 4 defined in California Financial Code section 90005(k)(10), including but not limited to extensions 5 of credit as defined in California Financial Code section 90005(k)(1), such as credit card debt. California Financial Code section 100019(e), and California Code of Regulations, 6 6. 7 8 new bond within 10 days of the recovery on a bond, or within 10 days after notification by the 9 revocation of the license. 10 11 7. 12 surety bond would expire on June 10, 2024. 13 On or around May 13, 2024 the Commissioner notified Respondent via certified 8. 14 15 Code section 100019(e) if a reinstatement or a replacement surety bond is not filed within 10 16 17 Refrain Order and Order Assessing Penalties and move to revoke its DCLA license (Notice). 18 9. 19 violation of California Financial Code section 100019(e) and CCR section 1850.50. 20 III. 21 **Applicable Laws** 10. 22 California Financial Code section 90005 provides in relevant part: 23 (d) "Consumer financial law" means a federal or California law that directly and specifically regulates the manner, content, or terms and 24 conditions of any financial transaction, or any account, product, or service related thereto, with respect to a consumer . . . 25 26 (e) "Consumer financial product or service" means either of the following: (1) A financial product or service that is delivered, offered, or provided for 27 use by consumers primarily for personal, family, or household purposes . . 28 (f) "Covered person" means, to the extent not preempted by federal law, 2

DESIST AND REFRAIN ORDER AND ORDER ASSESSING PENALTIES

II.

title 10 (CCR), section 1850.50 require a DCLA licensee to maintain a surety bond. Failure to file a Commissioner that a new bond is required, constitutes sufficient grounds for the suspension or

On or around April 10, 2024, the Commissioner received notice that Respondent's

mail, U.S. mail, and/or email at its designated email address that pursuant to California Financial calendar days after notice that a new bond is required, the Department would issue a Desist and

As of May 24, 2024 Respondent has not replaced or reinstated its surety bond in

$ \begin{array}{c} 1 \\ 2 \\ 3 \\ 4 \\ 5 \\ 6 \\ 7 \\ 8 \\ 9 \\ 10 \\ 11 \\ 12 \\ 13 \\ 14 \\ 15 \\ 16 \\ 17 \\ 18 \\ 19 \\ 20 \\ 21 \\ 22 \\ 23 \\ 24 \\ 25 \\ 26 \\ 27 \\ \end{array} $	 require licensees to submit bonds, riders, and endorsements electronically through the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System & Registry's electronic surety bond function. (1) When an action is commenced on a licensee's bond, the commissioner may require the filing of a new bond. Immediately upon recovery of any action on the bond, the licensee shall file a new bond. <i>Failure to file a new bond within 10 days of the recovery on a bond, or within 10 days after notification by the commissioner that a new bond is required, constitutes sufficient grounds for the suspension or revocation of the license. A licensee may provide the commissioner a refundable deposit in the amount of twenty-five thousand dollars (\$25,000) in lieu of the bond while the licensee pursues a new bond.</i> (2) The commissioner may require a higher bond amount for a licensee based on the number of affiliates under the license and the dollar amount of collecting consumer debt by that licensee. (Emphasis applied). 16. California Code of Regulations, title 10, section 1850.50 provides: (a) All surety bonds, amendments, cancellations, notices of claims, and information related to surety bonds riders and endorsements shall be filed with NMLS for transmission to the Commissioner. (b) The surety BOND, DEBT COLLECTION LICENSING ACT LICENSEE BOND, 'ESB Form Version 1 Effective 07/01/2021, NMLS Version: CA-DFPI - 07/01/2021, incorporated herein by reference in its entirety. (c) For purposes of obtaining a license, an applicant shall initially file a surety bond shall be tond provide notice to the Commissioner within ten (10) calendar days' notice to the Commissioner within ten (10) calendar days' notice to the Commissioner within ten (10) calendar days of service of any action. 17. California Financial Code section 90015(d) provides: (1) If, in the opinion of the department, any person engages, has engaged, or proposes to engage in any activity prohibited by Section
28	final order of the commissioner.
	4 DESIST AND REFRAIN ORDER AND ORDER ASSESSING PENALTIES

(411011	1	18.	California Financial Code section 90015(c) provides, "[a]fter notice and an		
	2	opportunity to	be heard, the commissioner may, by order, assess penalties."		
	3	19.	California Financial Code section 90012(c) provides, in relevant part:		
	4		In any civil or administrative action brought pursuant to this division, the		
	5		following penalties shall apply:		
	6		(1) Any person that violates, through any act or omission, any provision of this division shall forfeit and pay a penalty pursuant to this subdivision.		
	7				
	8		(A) The penalty amounts are as follows:(i) For any violation of this division, rule or final order, or condition		
	9		imposed in writing by the department, a penalty may not exceed the greater of either five thousand dollars (\$5,000) for each day during which		
	10		the violation or failure to pay continues, or two thousand five hundred		
	11		dollars (\$2,500) for each act or omission in violation		
	12		IV.		
	13		Desist and Refrain Order		
	14	20.	Based on the foregoing findings, the Commissioner is of the opinion that		
	15	Respondent is a covered person that engaged in unlawful acts or practices, in violation of California			
	16	Financial Code section 90003(a)(1), and offered or provided to a consumer any financial product or			
	17	service not in conformity with any consumer financial law or otherwise committed any act or			
	18	omission in violation of a consumer financial law, in violation of California Financial Code section			
	19	90003(a)(2), including but not limited to the following:			
	20	a.	California Financial Code section 100019(e) of the DCLA; and		
	21	b.	California Code of Regulations, title 10, section 1850.50 of the DCLA.		
JIAIC	22	21.	Pursuant to California Financial Code section 90015(d)(1), Respondent and its		
-	23	managers, officers, directors, agents, or employees, are hereby ordered to desist and refrain from			
	24	engaging in, or proposing to engage in, unlawful acts or practices in violation of California			
	25	Financial Code section 100019(e) and California Code of Regulations, title 10, section 1850.50, or			
	26	offer or provide to a consumer any financial product or service not in conformity with any			
	27	consumer fina	ncial laws, including but not limited to the following:		
	28		a. California Financial Code section 100019(e) of the DCLA; and		

b. California Code of Regulations, title 10, section 1850.50 of the DCLA.
22. This Desist and Refrain Order is necessary, in the public interest and consistent with the purposes, policies, and provisions of the CCFPL. This Desist and Refrain Order shall remain in full force and effect until further order of the Commissioner.

V.

Order Assessing Penalties – CCFPL (Cal. Fin. Code § 90015(c))

23. Pursuant to California Financial Code section 90015(c) and section 90012(c), and after due consideration of possible mitigating factors and other appropriateness considerations listed in section 90012(c)(1)(B), Respondent is hereby ordered to pay the Commissioner a penalty of \$2,500.00 within 30 days of the date of this order. This penalty shall be made payable in the form of an Automated Clearing House deposit or cashier's check made payable to the Department of Financial Protection and Innovation. The cashier's check shall be mailed to the attention of "Accounting – Litigation" at Department of Financial Protection and Innovation, 2101 Arena Boulevard, Sacramento, California 95834-2036. Notice of such payment shall be concurrently sent to Melinda Lee via e-mail at Melinda.Lee@dfpi.ca.gov.

Dated: May 28, 2024 Sacramento, California



CLOTHILDE V. HEWLETT Commissioner of Financial Protection and Innovation

By: _

MELINDA LEE Deputy Commissioner Debt Collection Licensing Act