California Residential Mortgage Lending Act

How to reach us:

Department of Financial Protection and Innovation
Financial Services
320 W. 4th Street, Suite 750
Los Angeles, CA 90013

  Phone: (866) ASK-CORP (275-2677)

Consumer Information

Information on companies and branches licensed under CRMLA is also available on NMLS Consumer Access. NMLS Consumer Access is a fully searchable website that allows the public to view information concerning state-licensed mortgage companies, branches and individuals currently licensed through NMLS.

Licensee Questions and Information



Laws and Regulations


Residential Mortgage Forms

Form Number Form Title Format
  California Financial Information Privacy Act  
  CRMLA Application: An application for a License under the California Residential Mortgage Lending Act should be filed through the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System (NMLS).  
  Notice to Residents of Foreclosed Property – Required by SB 1137 (Perata – Chap. 69, Stats. 2008) PDF
250.61 Statement of Citizenship, Alienage, and Immigration Status for Application of Department of Corporations License or Certificate PDF
BCIA 8016 Request for Live Scan Service PDF
DFPI-MBL 1950.122.2 Notice of Officers, Directors, Partners, “Control” Persons, Managers, Members, Trustees and Employees of a Residential Mortgage Lender, Residential Mortgage Lender and Servicer or Residential Mortgage Loan Servicer PDF
DFPI MBL 1950.122C Notice of Fingerprint Processing Requirements under the California Residential Mortgage Lending Act PDF

Exemption for Employees of Certain Bona Fide Nonprofit Organizations

HDN-1 2020 Holden Act Report (HDN-1) Instructions and Forms PDF


2018 Annual California Residential Mortgage Lending Act Report – Due March 1, 2019

Licensees under the California Residential Mortgage Lending Act (CRMLA) are now able to complete their 2017 CRMLA Annual Report electronically.  Instructions for completing the annual report were sent to each licensee’s designated email address on January 20, 2018. Reports must be submitted online using the unique link included in the e-mail. The instructions also include a link to a blank paper copy of the report to help you compile the information and prepare to file the online form. The report must be filed by all CRMLA licensees by March 1, 2019.

Residential Mortgage Loan Report (Holden Act Report) for Calendar Year 2018 – Due March 31, 2019

Specified DFPI-licensed lenders must file their 2018 Residential Mortgage Loan Report by March 31, 2019. The report is mandated by the state’s Housing Financial Discrimination Act of 1977, known as the Holden Act.

Mortgage Call Report

Due 45 days after the end of each quarter.  Every licensee must file the Mortgage Call Report on NMLS each quarter.  Please refer to the NMLS Resource Center. Audited Financial Statements, Due within 105 days of end of fiscal year:

  • The licensee must submit audited financial statements within 105 days of the end of its fiscal year.  The audited financial statements must document that the licensee maintains tangible net worth of $250,000 and must be posted on the NMLS.   See Submitting Financial Statements on NMLS.

Last updated: Nov 13, 2020 @ 2:46 pm